Equity, Justice, and Inclusion Lecture and Distinguished Alumni Award Celebration

Equity, Justice, and Inclusion Lecture and Distinguished Alumni Award Celebration

The Equity, Justice, and Inclusion Lecture is one in a series of events the School of Social Work offers each year. Following the lecture, the school honors the recipients of that year's Distinguished Alumni Awards, which recognize BCSSW MSW or PhD alumni who have made significant contributions to the social work profession.

Save the date: 

Monday, October 21, 2024

January 2024 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners


Scune Carrington

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

Scune Carrington, MSW '09

Director, Integrated Care, Massachusetts League of Community Health Centers

Scune Carrington, MSW, LICSW, is the Director of Integrated Care at the Mass League of Community Health Centers. Apart from her primary role at the League, Scune serves as the chair of the Board of Health for the city of Malden. Scune’s commitment to social work extends to various committees and commissions, including being appointed by Governor Baker to the Social Worker board. She is on the Board of Directors of National Association of Social Workers-Mass Chapter, the Mass Medical Society's Committee on Oral Health, MassHealth DentalAdvisory Committee, Oral Health Advocacy Task Force. She is also the founder and owner of her own private practice BennuCare. She holds a BA from UMass Amherst, and an MSW from Boston College ’09, where she was the recipient of the Dean’s Leadership Award. She is a candidate for Doctor of Health Science '24 at Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

Anne Day Leong

Distinguished Recent Alumni Award Recipient

Anne Day Leong, PhD '17
Senior Director of Research, Evaluation, and Research Partnerships, UNICEF

Anne Day Leong is the Senior Director of Research, Evaluation, and Research Partnerships at UNICEF USA. Dr. Day Leong established and leads UNICEF USA’s first research office focused on bridging the gap between research and policies for children. Anne Day Leong is an expert on policies impacting children, and monitoring and evaluation research. Dr. Day Leong formally worked for the U.S. Federal Government leading policy evaluations and serving as a subject matter expert on early childhood policies. Dr. Day Leong was awarded a post-doctoral fellowship at the National Institutes of Health. She completed her PhD in social work at Boston College, her master’s degree in social work at the University of Pennsylvania, her B.A. in psychology, and her B.A. in women’s studies from Penn State University.

Keynote Speaker


Beth Chandler

Beth Chandler
President and CEO, YW Boston

Beth Chandler joined YW Boston in November 2012, with more than 20 years of experience in both the corporate and nonprofit sectors. In August 2018, she was appointed President & CEO. Her breadth of work experience encompasses program development, delivery and evaluation, business development, and operations.

Prior to working at YW Boston, Beth served as vice president at the Achievement  Network, a national non-profit dedicated to helping urban public and charter schools close the achievement gap.

Beth also held positions at Massachusetts Legal Assistance Corporation, the largest funding source for civil legal aid programs in the Commonwealth, and NeighborWorks America, one of the country’s preeminent leaders in affordable housing and community development.

Beth also worked as a corporate banking associate with Bank of America incorporate banking and began her career as a research and evaluation analyst with the Urban Institute.

Currently, Beth serves on the Eastern Bank Board of Advisors, The Museum of Fine Arts Board of Advisors, the TSNE-MissionWorks Board of Directors, the Women’s Workforce Advisory Council, and the Leadership Circle of HopeCentral Church.

A former professional basketball player, Beth received her undergraduate degree from Harvard University and an MBA from Columbia Business School.

Event Archive


(L to R): Professor Summer Sherburne Hawkins, Sarah B. Coughlin MSW '07, Ngozi Enelamah MSW '18, PhD '20, Salem Professor in Global Practice Theresa S. Betancourt, Sc.D., Dean Gautam Yadama

Distinguished Alumni Awards


Distinguished Alumni Award Criteria

Each year the BCSSW Alumni Board solicits nominations for the annual Distinguished Alumni Awards. These awards recognize the significant contributions to the field of social work made by a BCSSW alumni. Two awards are given each year, one to a recent graduate (5-10 years) and the other to an alumnus or alumna 10+ years from graduation.

Criteria for this award can include:

  • Significant contributions that enhance the profession of social work in the larger community.
  • Significant contributions made to social work education.
  • Significant contributions made in the area of public service.
  • Significant contributions to practice issues within the profession.
  • Significant contributions to social policy and change.
  • Significant contributions to the BCSSW students and alumni.
  • A lifetime achievement in the profession of social work.

Nominees must be alumni of the Boston College School of Social Work (MSW or PhD). Current BCSSW Alumni Association Board members and BCSSW employees are not eligible. Both the award winner and the person who nominates the award winner will be invited to attend the annual award ceremony.

Questions? Contact the Alumni Board at sswalumni@bc.edu

Award Recipients


Scune Carrington, MSW '09
Anne Day Leong, PhD '17


Sarah B. Coughlin, MSW '07
Ngozi Enelamah, MSW '18, PhD '20


Leslie Dominguez-Santos, MSW’01
Keith Chan, MSW’06 and PhD’13


Charlene Luma ’03, MSW ’05
Charu Stokes-Williams, PhD ’11


LCDR Monique Worrell-Oriola ’03, MSW ’06
Michael Grinnell, MSW ’16, LCSW
Marvin Toliver, MSW ’16, LSW
Josh McNeil, MSW ’15, LCSW
Jesse Wiltey, MSW ’16


Tanya Sharpe, PhD ’07
Lamar Polk, MSW ’09



Mitzi Peterson, MSW ’97
Najwa Sado Safadi, Ph.D. ’12


Debra Sosin, MSW ’77
Nick Teich, MSW ’09


Daniel Gill, MSW '06
Judith S. Willison, MSW '87


Colleen Fitzgerald, MSW '11
James A. Martin, MSW '70


Erin McAleer, MSW '05
Amy Vosburg-Casey, MSW/JD '01



BLI retreat - image of cohort 2022

Equity, Justice, and Inclusion

The mission of our Equity, Justice, and Inclusion (EJI) Initiatives is to develop policies and practices that promote a caring, respectful, and inclusive community. EJI promotes open and honest conversations, fosters interdisciplinary collaborations, and expands access to opportunities for historically marginalized groups, including women, racial and ethnic populations, and the LGBTQ+ community. 

Quick Links