Society of Physics Students

The Society of Physics Students is a national organization of the American Institute of Physics in College Park, Maryland, with chapters at every major university. Our chapter is an informal group of undergraduate students interested in physics, and is run by the students themselves. You are welcome to attend any of the meetings, regardless of whether you are a member of SPS or not, and whether you are a physics major or not.

Activities planned for this semester include invited talks by speakers from within the department and from outside, a visit to a brewery, and social gatherings over pizza. SPS provides opportunities to meet your peers and physics faculty in an informal setting, and to voice your opinions or suggestions.

To learn more or participate, please check the SPS home page or contact the Physics Department at


Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Sigma Pi Sigma’s mission is not completed in the induction ceremony with the recognition of academic accomplishment. In the four dimensions of Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship, the mission of Sigma Pi Sigma takes a longer view.Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. The society has 75,000 historical members. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership.

Andrew Cole ’23 (Major: Physics)
Sarah Collins ‘23 (Major: Physics)
Elizabeth McAnally ’23 (Major: Physics)
Kevin Qi ’23 (Major: Management, Physics)
Nathan Tolva ’24 (Major: Physics, Mathematics BS)

  • Carlie Cichocki '22 (Major: Physics)
  • Meaghan Doyle '21 (Major: Physics)
  • Paul Fessaditis '22 (Major: Physics)
  • Onemo Kang '21 (Major: Physics, Minor: Math, Philosophy)
  • John Marangola '23(Major: Computer Science, Physics)
  • Kathleen Murphy '22 (Major: Physics)
  • Renee Nichols '21 (Major: Physics, Minor: Math, Chemistry)
  • Erika Petschek '22 (Major: Physics)
  • Zachary Long '20 (Major: Physics)
  • Roy Forestano '21 (Major: Physics, Math)
  • Max Lavey '21 (Major: Physics)
  • Nicole Menkart '20 (Major: Physics, Minor: Hispanic Studies)
  • Eva Pontrelli '20 (Major: Physics, Minor: Music)
  • Joseph Schulz '21 (Major: Physics, Math)
  • Fengdan Shi '21 (Major: Math, Minor: Physics, Finance)
  • Thomas Tartaglia '21 (Major: Physics)
  • Amelia Culp '19 (Major: Physics) 
  • Matthew Fernbach '19 (Major: Physics, Economics)
  • Marisa Romanelli '19  (Major: Physics, Minor: Russian)
  • Nicholas Stubblefield '20 (Major: Physics, Political Science, Minor: Mathematics) 
  • Cole Tamburri '20 (Major: Physics, Minor: Philosophy)
  • ChunAn Wang '20 (Major:  Physics, Computer Science)
  • Noah Barnett ’19 (Major: Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • Natasha Bednarz ’17 (Major: Geological Science, Minor: Physics)
  • Matthew Bonidie ’19 (Major: Physics)
  • Erik Liu ‘17 (Major: Chemistry)
  • Hanyi Lu ’18 (Major: Physics / Mathematics)
  • Paul Menker ’18 (Major: Physics / Mathematics)
  • Ryan O’Connor ’19 (Major: Physics, Minor: Philosophy / Mathematics)
  • Andrew Cammon ’18 (Major: Physics / Finance)
  • Brittany Carter ’17 (Major: Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • Eleni Hughes ’17 (Major: Physics, Minor: French/Mathematics)
  • Nathaniel Hughes ’18 (Major: Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • Qi Ying Lim ’18 (Major: Physics)
  • Andrew McCrossan ’18 (Major: Physics)
  • Melissa Mullen ’18 (Major: Physics)
  • Christopher Noyes ’18 (Major: Physics)
  • Caitlin Seed ’17 (Major: Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • Eric Tiede ’18 (Major: Physics)
  • Andrew Uzdejczyk ’18 (Major: Physics / Chemistry)
  • Patricia Bolan ’17 (Major: Physics, Minor: Music)
  • John McElearney ’16 (Major: Physics)
  • Sarah Steiger ’17 (Major: Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • Melissa Wing ’17 (Major: Physics)
  • Andrew Boyce ’16 (Major: Physics)
  • James Brogan ’16 (Major: Chemistry/Physics)
  • Michael Cambria ’15 (Major: Physics)
  • Brian Choi ’14 (Major: Mathematics, Minor: Physics)
  • Michelle Cunningham ’14 (Major: Physics, Minor: Hispanic Studies)
  • Peter Czajka ’16 (Major: Physics)
  • David DePalma ’14 (Major: Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • William Flaherty ’16 (Major: Economics / Physics, Minor: Mathematics)
  • Linden Hayes ’15 (Major: Physics / Hispanic Studies)
  • Masrur Khan ’14 (Major: Physics)
  • Joseph Liguori ’15 (Major: Mathematics / Physics)
  • Abigail Kopec ’16 (Major: Physics)
  • Nicholas Martis ’14 (Major: Physics / Philosophy)
  • Ryan Polischuk ’15 (Major: Physics / Mathematics)
  • Laura Simko ’15 (Major: Physics)
  • Michelle Solomon ’15 (Major: Physics)
  • Erin Sutton ’16 (Major: Physics, Minor: Computer Science / Mathematics)