Graduate Awards 2020

Kiara Kharpertian Award

This award was established to honor the memory of our colleague Kiara Kharpertian, who earned her doctorate in English in 2015. Open to MA and PhD students, it encourages and supports graduate students who take intellectual and professional risks that extend the limits of their interests. Graduate students can be nominated by faculty or can submit proposals on their own to support travel, research, or any aspect of a scholarly project or endeavor.

Cash award. Deadline: December 1.

2020 Award Recipient

  • Annie Malady

Von Hendy Award

This award honors our longtime colleague Andrew Von Hendy. Designed to recognize the high quality of graduate student writing, it is given to the best paper written by a graduate student. Two prizes are awarded each year, one for an M.A. student and one for a Ph.D. student.

Deadline: April 7.

2020 Award Recipients

  • MA: Eleanor Rambo

  • PhD: Deanna Danforth

Donald White Teaching Award

Award for outstanding teaching by a M.A. and Ph.D. student.

2020 Award Recipients

  • MA: Alex Budd

  • MA: Hannah Clay

  • PhD: Megan Lease

Chair's Distinguished Service Award

2020 Award Recipients

  • Megan Crotty

  • Kelsey Norwood