Dean Rita P. Kelleher Award

The Dean Rita P. Kelleher Award recognizes a graduate of the Connell School of Nursing who embodies the BC nurse: an accomplished nurse leader, an ethically aware scientist, and inquisitive clinician. Each year, the award is presented during reunion and the recipient shares her or his knowledge in a topical discussion.

The award’s namesake, Rita P. Kelleher, was the nursing school’s first faculty member in 1947. She served as dean from 1948 to 1968. She returned to full-time teaching and retired in 1973. Dean Kelleher died on November 2, 2009, at the age of 101, leaving a legacy that is still felt today.


2024 Recipient

Adelene Egan ’18 

Adelene Egan, RN, works in the Emergency Department at NewYork-Presbyterian / Weill Cornell Medical Center. She will receive the Dean Rita P. Kelleher Award for alumni achievement on Monday, April 22, 2024.

Past Kelleher Award Recipients

Click on the links below to view details from past events.

Marsha Maurer, M.S. ’90
Former Senior Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Katherine O’Neill ’73
Past President
Massachusetts School Nurse Organization

Terry Fulmer, M.S. ’77, Ph.D. ’83
The John A. Hartford Foundation

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, reunion activities were canceled

Deborah Washington, M.S. ’93, Ph.D. ’12

Director of Diversity for Nursing and Patient Care Services
Massachusetts General Hospital

John Welch, M.S. ’12
Senior Nurse Anesthetist
Boston Children's Hospital

Former Chief Clinical Officer for Ebola Response
Partners in Health

Karen A. Daley ’04
Board of Trustees
American Nurses Foundation and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Darlene MacIsaac Hinojosa ’86
Colonel, Army Nurse Corps, US Army Reserve
Force Health Protection Integrator, Army Health Command 

Family Nurse Practitioner
Hunter Holmes McGuire VA Medical Center

Cecilia McVey ’72
Associate Director of Nursing and Patient Services
VA Boston Healthcare System

Martha Jurchak, Ph.D. ’96
Executive Director, Ethics Service
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Ellen Robinson, M.S. ’83, Ph.D. ’97
Nurse Ethicist
Massachusetts General Hospital’s Institute for Patient Care


MGH Optimum Care Committee

Mimi Pomerleau, M.S. 95
Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses

Mairead Hickey 72

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Ann Riley Finck ’66
Nurse Practitioner and Preceptor, Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit
New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia Medical Center

Genevieve V. Foley ’66
Pediatric Oncology Nurse

Elizabeth (Betsy) Brown ’85
Director, Clinical Services
Partners Harvard Medical International