Graduate Awards

This award honors our late, longtime colleague Henry Blackwell. It is given to the best research paper written from a cultural studies perspective by an MA student.

Cash award. Deadline: September 15.

2017 Award Recipient

  • Kristy Snow, "The Dialogue of a 'Gendered Crisis': The Early Modern Aisling Trope and Evan Boland's 20th Century Reclamation"

This award was established to honor the memory of our colleague Kiara Kharpertian, who earned her doctorate in English in 2015. Open to MA and PhD students, it encourages and supports graduate students who take intellectual and professional risks that extend the limits of their interests. Graduate students can be nominated by faculty or can submit proposals on their own to support travel, research, or any aspect of a scholarly project or endeavor.

Cash award. Deadline: December 1.

2017 Award Recipient

  • Kelly Duquette

This award honors our longtime colleague Andrew Von Hendy. Designed to recognize the high quality of graduate student writing, it is given to the best paper written by a graduate student. Two prizes are awarded each year, one for an M.A. student and one for a Ph.D. student.

Deadline: April 7.

2017 Award Recipients

  • M.A.: Katie Van Zanen, "Cosmopolitan Incoherence: Domestic Space and Dialogue in Another Country"
  • Ph.D.: Megan Crotty, "The Future is Female: Double Agents and 'Subversive Subservience' in John McGahern's Amongst Women"

This award honors our longtime colleague Paul Doherty. It is for the best undergraduate thesis.

2017 Award Recipients

  • Corinne Duffy, "Breaching Language Barriers: Diglossic Dynamics Expressed through Haitian Women’s Contemporary Fiction”
  • Andrea Fitzgerald, “My Anti-Memoir Meta-Memoir Comedy Special”

Award for outstanding teaching by a M.A. and Ph.D. student.

2017 Award Recipients

  • M.A.: Kelly Duquette
  • Ph.D.: Colleen Taylor