People

Faculty

Visiting Assistant Professors


Name Office Email
Ramaesh Bhagirat Stokes S316
ramaesh.bhagirat@bc.edu
Amanda Demmer Stokes S25
amanda.demmer@bc.edu
Rodolfo Fernandez Stokes S383
rodolfo.fernandez@bc.edu
Craig Gallagher Stokes S344
craig.gallagher@bc.edu
Andrew Jewett Stokes S249
andrew.jewett@bc.edu
Trais Pearson Stokes S346
quentin.pearson@bc.edu
Stephen Pieragastini Stokes S381
steven.pieragastini@bc.edu
Jesse Tumblin Stokes S248
jesse.tumblin@bc.edu
Jenna Tonn Stokes S276
jenna.tonn@bc.edu
Carolyn Twomey Stokes S318
carolyn.twomey@bc.edu
Catherine Warner Stokes S348
catherine.warner@bc.edu
Andrea Wenz Stokes S312
andrea.wenz@bc.edu

Visiting Instructors and Scholars


Name Office Email
Ingu Hwang   ingu.hwang@bc.edu
Margaux Magalhaes Stokes S365 magalhma@bc.edu
Patrick Mannion
Stokes S365
mannionp@bc.edu
Christopher Staysniak Stokes S350 christopher.staysniak@bc.edu

Ph.D. Students


Fields of Interest:  

American

Asia and the Middle East

Britain, Ireland, and British Empire

Medieval

Modern and Early Modern Europe


American History:

Name Area of Interest E-mail
Michael Bailey Atlantic World History; Irish History; Colonial and Early Republic American History; Colonial Latin America; Social & Cultural History baileymp@bc.edu
Peter Berard 20th-c. U.S.; intellectual and diplomatic history peter.berard@bc.edu
Katherine Carper Immigration; 19th-c. US; social history
katherine.carper@bc.edu
Michael Franczak Cold War; U.S. foreign and foreign economic policy michael.franczak@bc.edu
Felix Jimenez Modern Germany; Human Rights; Latin America felix.jimenez@bc.edu
Joanna Kelly Religion, politics and culture in US history joanna.kelly@bc.edu
Kelly Lyons U.S. immigration and labor history lyonskj@bc.edu
Colin McConarty
U.S. Political History & Political Thought; Southern History; African American History notismcc@bc.edu
Michael McLean Western United States History, Native American History, and Environmental History michaemg@bc.edu
Mia Michael U.S. Immigration, Nativism, Social History michaemc@bc.edu
John Morton Maine in the Early Republic mortonjo@bc.edu
Alexander Noonan 19th- and 20th-c. U.S. alexander.noonan.1@bc.edu
Clayton Trutor 19th-c. U.S. social and cultural history trutor@bc.edu
Allison Vander Broek 20th-c. US history, American Catholicism, Social Movements/Social Activism vanderaa@bc.edu

Asia and the Middle East:

Name Area of Interest E-mail
Jeffery Dyer Nineteenth Century Ottoman Empire dyerjd@bc.edu
Fumi Inoue Modern Japanese history; Japan-U.S. foreign relations; social movements fumi.inoue@bc.edu
Görkem Özizmirli Early modern Ottoman Empire gorkem.ozizmirli@bc.edu
Lindsay Paturalski
Colonial and Post-Colonial India gatesli@bc.edu

Britain, Ireland, and British Empire:

Name Area of Interest E-mail
Michael Bailey Atlantic World History; Irish History; Colonial and Early Republic American History; Colonial Latin America; Social & Cultural History baileymp@bc.edu
Erica Foss 19th Century Britain and France erica.foss.1@bc.edu
Michael Franczak Cold War; U.S. foreign and foreign economic policy michael.franczak@bc.edu

Medieval:

Name Area of Interest E-mail
Christine Bertoglio Social and religious issues in High Medieval England and France christine.bertoglio@bc.edu
Matthew Delvaux Archaeology and text in early medieval northwestern Europe matthew.delvaux@bc.edu

Modern and Early Modern Europe:

Name Area of Interest E-mail
Whitney Abernathy Modern French intellectual and cultural history
whitney.abernathy@bc.edu
Eric Grube Modern Germany; cultural and political history eric.grube@bc.edu
Daniel Hood Democracy and violence in early-mid 19th-c. Europe daniel.hood@bc.edu
Felix Jimenez Modern Germany; Human Rights; Latin America
felix.jimenez@bc.edu
Nicholas Quadrini Modern Germany quadrini@bc.edu
David Sessions Modern European intellectual history; French and German philosophy and political thought
david.sessions@bc.edu
Isaiah Sterrett
Modern Europe; culture and politics; children, childhood, and the family; the modern state sterreti@bc.edu

Teaching Assistants


Name Location Email
Michael Bailey Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-C baileymp@bc.edu
Benhamin Bertrand Stokes Hall, Cubicle S370-C
bertranb@bc.edu
Samuel Davis
Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-F davisvo@bc.edu
Veronica Donato Stokes Hall, Cubicle S370-D donatov@bc.edu
Andrew Evans Stokes Hall, Cubicle S380-A
evansar@bc.edu
Michael Franczak
Stokes Hall, Cubicle S370-C
franczam@bc.edu
Fumi Inoue Stokes Hall, Office S356
fumi.inoue@bc.edu
Brittany Jones Stokes Hall, Cubicle S380-B jonesww@bc.edu
Kabir Joshi Stokes Hall, Cubicle S315-C joshika@bc.edu
Joanna Kelly Stokes Hall, Cubicle S390-B
joanna.kelly@bc.edu
Melanie Lorenz Stokes Hall, Cubicle S390-B lorenzmc@bc.edu
Kelly Lyons
Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-A lyonskj@bc.edu
Hayley Margules Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-D
marguleh@bc.edu
Robert Matina Stokes Hall, Cubicle S380-A matina@bc.edu
Drew McCall Stokes Hall, Cubicle S315-C mccalldr@bc.edu
Colin McConarty Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-E notismcc@bc.edu
Mia Michael Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-B michaemc@bc.edu
Nicholas Misukanis Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-C misukani@bc.edu
John Morton
Stokes Hall, Cubicle S370-C mortonjo@bc.edu
Lindsay Paturalski Stokes Hall, Cubicle S315-B
gatesli@bc.edu
Caleb Pennington Stokes Hall, Cubicle S370-C penninca@bc.edu
Betsy Pingree Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-B pingreee@bc.edu
Nicholas Quadrini Stokes Hall, Cubicle S315-D
quadrini@bc.edu
Holly Springer Stokes Hall, Cubicle S390-A springho@bc.edu
Isaiah Sterrett Stokes Hall, Cubicle S330-F sterreti@bc.edu
Laurel Teal Stokes Hall, Cubicle S380-B teallb@bc.edu
Amelia Valentino Stokes Hall, Cubicle 330-D valentam@bc.edu
Allison Vander Broek
Stokes Hall, Cubicle 390-B allison.vanderbroek@bc.edu