Writing Support Through the CFLC

 

Writing tutoring:

The  tutoring appointments for writing support, including writing support for English Language Learners,  are designed to assist with all stages of the writing process.  During a fifty minute students can brainstorm ideas, go over an outline, or work on a draft.  Tutors do not edit papers.  They will work with you to help your writing improve. Papers to be reviewed during a session should ideally be five to eight pages in length. The CFLC does not have staff to provide writing assistance for dissertations or pieces being submitted for publication. To make an appointment please follow the instructions.  All appointments beginfive to eight pages in length.on the hour (*Except A&P).  

 

The Online Writing Lab (OWL):

The OWL offers asynchronous, email-based feedback on work in progress. Writers can submit drafts and identify revision priorities through an online form and OWL tutors will deliver written feedback within 48 hours. As in face-to-face sessions, OWL tutorials aim to help writers improve their overall processes, with emphasis on higher-order effectiveness rather than cosmetic editing. 

 

The OWL will be open for submissions beginning

Thursday, January 26th.

Submit Your Paper to OWL

 

  • Thursday, January 26 - First day accepting tutorial requests for the spring semester.
  • Wednesday, March 1 - Deadline for tutorial requests to be completed before Spring Vacation.
  • Saturday, March 4, to Sunday, March 12 - Closed for Spring Vacation. Tutorial requests received during this period will be processed on Monday, March 13.
  • Monday, April 3 - Deadline for tutorial requests to be completed before Easter Weekend.
  • Thursday, April 6, to Monday, April 10 - Closed for Easter Weekend. Tutorial requests received during this period will be processed on Tuesday, April 11.  
  • Wednesday, April 12 - Deadline for tutorial requests to be completed before Patriots' Day Weekend.
  • Saturday, April 15, to Monday, April 17 - Closed for Patriots' Day Weekend. Tutorial requests received during this period will be processed on Tuesday, April 18.
  • Monday, May 1 - Deadline for spring semester tutorial requests.
  • Thursday, May 4 - Closed for summer. Please  note additionally that the OWL is closed on all Saturdays· Thursday, January26 - First day accepting tutorial requests for the spring semester. 

Please note additionally that the OWL is closed on all Saturdays.

Contact

For questions about our tutoring services, please contact:

Cecilie Reid-Joyner
Associate Director

reidce@bc.edu

I

Frequently Asked Questions about OWL


 

CFLC Calendar