To support a broad range of course offerings, the Communication Department has assigned full-time faculty to teach required classes. Our introductory classes (The Rhetorical Traditional and Survey of Mass Communication), research methods, theory classes, and writing-intensive seminars are taught by full-time faculty with PhDs in communication. Electives are taught by full-time faculty members and by professionals with relevant industry experience.

Faculty and Staff

The Communication department employs part-time faculty to teach our applied offerings. All of our part-time faculty either have extensive professional experience or graduate degrees.

Ann Barry, Ph.D

Visual Communication Theory, Adv. Visual Communication Theory

Christine Caswell

Senior Internship Seminar, Public Speaking, Broadcast and Digital Communication

Rich Howley

Studio Television Production, Digital Media Field Production

John Katsulas

Director of Debate

Paul Reynolds

Studio Television Production, Digital Media Field Production

Judy Schwartz

Fundamentals of Audio I

Anne Sears, Ph.D

Media Theory, Television Criticism

Affiliated Faculty

Kyoung-yim Kim
Research Assistant Professor

Emeritus Faculty

Michael Keith
Professor Emeritus

Marilyn Malteski
Professor Emerita

Dorman Picklesimer, Jr.
Professor Emeritus

Christine Caswell

Director, Internships & Career Opportunities
St. Mary's Hall S375

Chris Citorik

Assistant Director, Creative Communication Laboratory
St. Mary's Hall 

Kristin Hartnett

Academic Advisor
St. Mary's Hall S376

Leslie Douglas

Office Administrator
St. Mary's Hall South, 4th Floor