Pinnacle Lecture Series

Each semester, the Connell School brings a widely recognized nurse leader to Boston College to speak on an issue at the forefront of health care. Pinnacle lectures are open to all CSON students, staff, faculty, alumni, and preceptors and practitioners and scholars unaffiliated with Boston College are welcome. Archived videos of past Pinnacle lectures are below.


Lighting the Way So Others Will Follow:

What 13 Years of Deanship Has Taught Me about Leadership, Service, and the Spirit of Nursing

Tuesday, March 30, 2021

4:30 p.m.

an online presentation via Zoom

Webinar ID: 969 3474 5581

Attendees will receive 1.8 contact hours

Susan Gennaro, dean, Connell School of Nursing

Susan Gennaro, Ph.D., RN, FAAN

Dean, Connell School of Nursing

Boston College

Dean Gennaro will discuss what makes a successful leader and the lessons she has learned along her career. An internationally known perinatal nurse researcher, editor of the Journal of Nursing Scholarship, and leader of the Connell School since 2008, Dean Gennaro will step down as Dean and return to the CSON faculty later this year.

Dean Gennaro is the spring 2021 Dr. Maureen P. McCausland Pinnacle Keynote Speaker.

1.8 contact hours will be awarded via e-mail to those registered below.

Register now

Dean Gennaro will be introduced by

David Quigley

Provost and Dean of Faculties
Boston College

John T. Butler, S.J.

Haub Vice President
University Mission and Ministry
Boston College

About Dean Gennaro

Dean and Professor Susan Gennaro, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, has led the William F. Connell School of Nursing at Boston College since 2008. Previously the Florence and William Downs Professor of Nursing Research at New York University, she also served on the nursing school faculties of the University of Pennsylvania, University of Alabama in Birmingham, and Medical University of South Carolina. She is an internationally known perinatal nurse researcher who has helped to change perinatal nursing practice based on her work on the antecedents and consequences of stress in families with preterm infants. This work has been funded by the National Institute of Nursing Research, Office of Women’s Health Research, and Sigma Theta Tau International. She has conducted research in Malawi, Uganda, and the U.S. Dean Gennaro served on the National Advisory Council for NINR from 2012–2016, has served as a grant reviewer for Sigma Theta Tau International and the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN); and was a member of the permanent study section in nursing at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Dean Gennaro is currently funded by the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities at NIH to conduct a five-year randomized control study examining an intervention to decrease anxiety, depression, and stress in minority women who are experiencing mental distress. This work continues earlier studies with a research team in Ohio, New York, and Massachusetts.

Dean Gennaro edits the Journal of Nursing Scholarship (JNS) and has been involved in the dissemination of nursing research as a JNS editorial board member and manuscript reviewer as well as that of other premier research journals. She is a member of the National Nursing Advisory Committee for the March of Dimes; Sigma Theta Tau; and the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). She has been awarded recognition for her research and services from AWHONN, ASPO/LAMAZE, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Alabama in Birmingham, and Pace University. In recognition of her contributions to global women’s health. In 2013, she was inducted into Sigma Theta Tau’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

This continuing nursing educational activity is designated for contact hours provided by the Boston College Connell School of Nursing Continuing Education Program.

Boston College CSON Continuing Education Program is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the Massachusetts Nurse Association, an accredited approver of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

Past Pinnacle Lecture Speakers

Click on the links below to view past lectures

Patricia Davidson
Dean, School of Nursing, Johns Hopkins University
Fall 2020

Gennaro Rocco
Director, Steering Committee, Scientific Research Center Centro di Eccellenza per la Cultura e la Ricerca Infermieristica

Alessandro Stievano
Research Fellow in Nursing, Centre of Excellence for Nursing Scholarship OPI, Rome
Fall 2019

Sheila Davis
Chief of Clinical Operations and Chief Nursing Officer, Partners in Health
Spring 2019

Lorna Finnegan
President, National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties
Executive Associate Dean, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Nursing
Fall 2018

Susan Orsega
Chief Nurse Officer, United States Public Health Service
Spring 2018

Marla Weston
Chief Executive Officer, American Nurses Association Enterprise
Fall 2017

Patricia Flatley Brennan
Director, National Library of Medicine
Spring 2017

Loretta Sweet Jemmott
Vice President for Health and Health Equity and
Professor, College of Nursing and Health Professions,
Drexel University
Fall 2016

Kathleen Rice Simpson
Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist
Editor in Chief, MCN: The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
Spring 2016

Margaret Grey
Annie W. Goodrich Professor, Yale School of Nursing
Fall 2015




Antonia M. Villarruel
Margaret Bond Simon Dean of Nursing, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Spring 2015

Maureen E. Gormley ’85
Chief Operating Officer, National Institutes of Health Clinical Center
Fall 2014

Courtney H. Lyder
Dean and Professor, UCLA School of Nursing
Assistant Director, UCLA Health System
Executive Director, UCLA Health System Patient Safety Institute
Spring 2014

Maureen P. McCausland ’72, M.S. ’77
Senior Vice President and System Chief Nursing Officer, MedStar Health
Fall 2013

Lee Woodruff
Best-selling author, CBS This Morning show contributor
Co-founder, Bob Woodruff Foundation
Spring 2013

Angela Barron McBride
Distinguished Professor and University Dean Emerita, Indiana University School of Nursing
Fall 2012

Karen Daley, M.S. ’04, Ph.D. ’10
President, American Nurses Association
Spring 2012

Karen H. Morin
President of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International
Fall 2011

Linda Burnes Bolton
Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Spring 2011

Terry Fulmer, M.S. ’77, Ph.D. ’83 
Dean, New York University College of Nursing
Fall 2010