Skip to main content

For Faculty

english department

Administrative Deadlines and Meetings

AY 2014 - 2015

Firefox is recommended when viewing links

Fall 2014 Semester

Tuesday, September 2 Classes begin
Wednesday, September 3
Full Department Meeting 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
McGuinn 521
Monday, September 8
Undergraduate Research Fellowships Fall projects 2014-2015
Applications due to chair
URF Application form
Wednesday, September 10 Full Department Meeting 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
McGuinn 521
Wednesday, September 10 Last date for undergraduate students to drop/add or to declare a course pass/fail online
Thursday, September 11 Mass of the Holy Spirit takes place at noon
All classes are canceled between noon and 1:15 pm
Wednesday, September 17 Full Department Meeting 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
McGuinn 334
Friday, September 19
Teaching, Advising and Mentoring Expense Grants
TAME Grant Deadline
TAME Application
Friday, September 26 -
Sunday, September 28
Parents' Weekend
Wednesday, October 1
P & E Meeting 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Stokes 494S
Friday, October 3 REGs Guidelines and Deadlines
Research Expense Grants - Winter/Spring
Friday, October 3
Eighty Percent and Regular Sabbaticals
Return application form to your chairperson
Faculty Fellowship Application
Wednesday, October 8
Promotions Committee (Full Professors) 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Gasson 105
Monday, October 13 Columbus Day - No Classes
Wednesday, October 15
Promotions Committee (Full Professors) 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Gasson 105
Wednesday, October 22 P&E Meeting, 3-4:30pm, Stokes 494
Wednesday, October 29
No Department Meeting
Friday, October 31
Research Incentive Grants
RIG applications due to department chair
Cover Page form
Application form
Chairperson/Dean Guidelines and Deadlines
Chairperson/Dean Evaluation Form
Wednesday, November 12 No Department Meeting
Friday, November 14
Undergradutate registration process begins.
Wednesday, November 19 Works in Progress
Beth Kowaleski-Wallace
3-4:30pm in Stokes 203N
Wednesday, November 26 -
Friday, November 28
Thanksgiving Holiday
Monday, December 8
Undergraduate Research Fellowships - Spring projects 2014/2015
Applications due to Chair
URF Application form
Wednesday, December 10
Full Department Meeting 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
McGuinn 521
Thursday, December 11
Friday, December 12
Study days
MA Comp Exams - (Part I and Part II)
                           (Part III and language)
Friday, December 12 Holiday Party, 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Connolly House
Saturday, December 13 -
Saturday, December 20
Term Examinations - Posted grades available on line

Spring 2015 Semester

Monday, January 12 Classes Begin
Friday, January 17
TAME grant deadline
(funding for spring or following summer)
TAME application form
Monday, January 19
Martin Luther King Day - No Classes
Monday, January 26 Job Talk with Justine Pizzo
3-4:30pm, 10 Stone Ave.
Wednesday, January 28 Full Dept. meeting
3-4:30pm, Stokes N131
Thursday, January 29 Job Talk with Sebastian Lecourt
4:30pm-6pm, 10 Stone Ave.
Friday, February 6
TAM grant deadline
TAM application
Tuesday, February 10 Job Talk with Aeron Hunt
4:30pm, 10 Stone Ave.
Wednesday, February 11
Appointment Committee, 3-4:30pm, Stokes N203
Monday, March 2 -
Friday, March 6
Spring Break
Wednesday, March 18
Works in Progress
Joe Nugent
3-4:30pm, 10 Stone Ave
Wednesday, April 1 Assistant Prof. Review
3-4:30pm, Stokes N203
Thursday, April 2 -
Monday, April 6
Easter Weekend - No classes Holy Thursday, Good Friday or Easter Monday
(except for any classes beginning at 4:00 pm and later)
Friday, April 3
Research Expense Grants
Summer/Fall applications due to Chair
Application Instructions
Cover Page
Recommendation Form
Thursday, April 9 Undergraduate registration period for fall 2015 begins.
Wednesday, April 15 Assistant Prof. Review
3-4:30pm, McGuinn 334
Monday, April 20 Patriot's Day - no classes
Wednesday, April 22 Assistant Prof. Review - if needed
3-4:30pm, McGuinn 334
Wednesday, April 29 Associate Prof. Review
3-4:30pm, Stokes N203
Friday, May 1 Study Days
MA Comp Exams (Part I and Part II)
Stokes S476
Monday, May 4 Study Days
MA Comp Exams (Part III and Language)
Stokes S476
Monday, May 4
English Honors Tea:
Department Honors and Awards Celebration
3:00-4:30pm
Connolly House
Tuesday, May 5 -
Tuesday, May 12
Term Examinations - Posted grades available online
Monday, May 18 Commencement