Our department is comprised of 87 professionally trained police officers, security officers, communications officers, and support staff, which make up the departments four (4) major bureaus:

  1. Bureau of Operations and Patrol Services
  2. Bureau of Investigative Services 
  3. Bureau of Administrative and Technical Services
  4. Bureau of Business Services

Our police officers are granted police authority from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, which allows them the same authority and powers as local or state police in or upon the lands and structures owned, used, or occupied by the University. Additionally, Boston College police officers have deputy sheriff powers for use in off-campus situations.

Our security officers, and gate attendants while not sworn police officers, do have authority as officials of the University and are empowered to enforce its rules and regulations.

officer and students

"Our officers are committed to establishing and maintaining positive and professional relationships with our community."