Gaelic Roots, Music, and Dance

Burns Scholars

Since 1991, the Burns Visiting Scholar in Irish Studies program has brought to Boston College a long and distinguished series of academics, writers, artists, journalists, librarians, and notable public figures who have made significant contributions to Irish cultural and intellectual life. Burns Visiting Scholars teach courses, offer public lectures, and engage with the rich resources of the John J. Burns Library in their ongoing research, writing, and creative endeavors.

More Information About Burns Scholars

Fall 2023 / Spring 2024

Claire Connolly

Spring 2023

Eunan O'Halpin

Fall 2022

Paul Murray

Fall 2021 / Spring 2022

James Kelly


Fall 2020

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

Fall 2019 / Spring 2020

Guy Beiner

Spring 2019

Patrick Lonergan

Fall 2018

Ciaran O'Neill


Spring 2018

Jason Knirck

Fall 2017

Lauren Arrington

Spring 2017

Kevin Barry

Fall 2016

Louis de Paor

Affiliated Scholars

Liam Bergin

Professor of the Practice of Theology

Scott T. Cummings

Professor of Theatre

Thomas H. Groome

Professor of Theology and Religious Education
Director, The Church in the 21st Century Center

Christian Dupont

Burns Librarian and Associate University Librarian for Special Collections

Sheila Gallagher

Professor of Art

Richard Kearney

Charles Seelig Professor of Philosophy

Michael Naughton

Evelyn J. and Robert A. Ferris Professor of Physics

Nancy Netzer

Professor of Art History
Director, McMullen Museum of Art

Kevin Ohi

Professor of English

Andrew Sofer

Professor of English

English Ph.D. Students

History Ph.D. Students

English M.A. Students

History M.A. Students