The Shea Center runs two major competitions each year: the Elevator Pitch Competition and the Strakosch Venture Competition. Both of these competitions are open to all Boston College undergraduate students. 

Elevator Pitch Competition

Got an idea that will change the world? Here’s your chance to get started. Apple, Microsoft, Dell, and Facebook were all founded by students. BC alumni have consistently been involved in high-impact ventures ranging from the founding of Netscape to the creation of the iPod.

Ready. Set. Pitch!

60 seconds

15 Teams

$1,500 in Awards

Each team will prepare a 60 second pitch for their business idea and will present it in front of a panel of experienced entrepreneurs and Venture Capitalists, who will determine the best pitches. Cash prizes will be given to the winners. It’s just as easy, and fun, as it sounds.

Strakosch Venture Competition

The Strakosch Venture Competition is a university-wide business plan competition designed to promote and support entrepreneurship at Boston College.

With mentoring from experienced alumni and faculty, students develop and implement the skills necessary to start successful businesses. Several sessions throughout the year offer additional coaching and advice from entrepreneurs, law partners, venture capitalists, and other executives. 

Bring Your Idea to Life


From experiences alumni and faculty

Business Plans

Learn how to develop a detailed plan to implement your idea


$20,000 in Awards



Business plans are submitted for judging and finalists are chosen to present their plans to a panel of judges consisting of executives and entrepreneurial experts. The first place team will receive $10,000, second place $5,000, third place $3,000, and the crowd favorite team will receive $2,000.  Many participants have gone on to leverage their ideas and learning to launch and grow real businesses!

2022 Winners


Jay Wadhwa and Jorge Dickens CSOM ’24

Split is an app that allows friends to split bills after a night out.


Hailey Wilcox, CSOM ’23, and Jack Moffatt, MCAS ’23

DeFi-Able is a platform to appraise NFT portfolios.


Arthur Brenninkmeijer CSOM ’22

SpotDrop is an app that allows users to find new places to eat based on reviews from friends they can trust.


Gianna Jarmain, MCAS ’23, Jack Russell, CSOM ’23, and Rhett Somers, CSOM ’23

MCEE is a collaborative music platform. The platform allows party guests to join a common queue where they can upvote and downvote songs, allowing them to contribute to music at parties and help alleviate pressure on hosts

Watch the 2021 finalist pitches and announcement of the winners