2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients with University President William P. Leahy, S.J. L-R: T. J. Maloney '75, P'09, '16; Brian J. Cummins '82, P'08, '11 and Patricia A. Foley Cummins '81, MA'83; Fr. Leahy; Arivee Vargas Rozier-Byrd '05, JD'08; Taylor J. Zografakis '16; Kathleen R. Ewell '16; Michael S. Rawlings '76, P'11. (Photo by Rose Lincoln)

The Boston College Alumni Association, Board of Trustees and University President William P. Leahy, S.J., honored BC graduates whose service has exemplified the University’s Ignatian call to be “men and women for others” at the annual Distinguished Volunteer Awards Dinner at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel.

The James F. Cleary ’50, H’93, Masters Award was presented to T.J. Maloney ’75, P’09, ’16, a Boston College trustee since 2009 whose family’s commitment to BC spans three generations. Michael Rawlings ’76, P’11, now serving his second term as mayor of Dallas, received the William V. McKenney Award. Patricia A. Moores ’85, P’20 was selected for the John P. Curley 1913 Award, in recognition for the support she and her family have shown for the mission of BC Athletics. 

The John J. Griffin, Sr. ’35, H’72, Alumni Association Award went to Patricia A. Foley Cummins ’81, MA’83 and Brian Cummins ’82, who have worked with national nonprofit Wreaths Across America, collaborating with BC alumni in the Washington, DC, area.  Arivee Vargas Rozier-Byrd ’05, J.D.’08, a member of Boston College’s AHANA Alumni Advisory Council and the 2014 John A. Dinneen, S.J., Hispanic Alumni Community Service Award winner, received the Philip J. Callan, Sr., ’25 Young Alumni Award. 

This year’s James F. Stanton ’42 Senior Class Gift Award was presented to Kathleen R. Ewell ’16 and Taylor Zografakis ‘16 – Ewell’s passion for on-campus extracurricular activities was the catalyst for her involvement in Senior Class Gift, while Zografakis served as co-chair of the Class of 2016’s Senior Class Gift Committee.

–University Communications