Professor of Physics Ziqiang Wang has been elected a 2017 Fellow of the American Physical Society in the organization’s division of condensed matter physics.

Election as a fellow is a selective honor, a recognition by peers of exceptional contributions to physics through outstanding research, important applications, leadership or service, or contributions to education. Fellowship is limited to no more than one half of one percent of the more than 50,000 APS members, who include physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.

Professor of Physics Ziqiang Wang.
Ziqiang Wang

The organization recognized Wang “for contributions to the understanding of strongly correlated electron systems, particularly the role of local disorder due to doping, and for his successful collaborations with experimental groups to apply his ideas to novel materials.”

Wang works with transition metal oxides, chemical compounds called chalcogenides, and pnictides – known as the nitrogen family in the periodic table.

“It is a prestigious recognition by Professor Wang’s peers of his outstanding contributions to physics,” said Ferris Professor of Physics and Department Chairman Michael Naughton, also an APS fellow.

Six BC Physics faculty members – close to a third of the department – have now been named APS fellows: Wang, Naughton, Professor Kris Kempa, Distinguished Research Professor Gabor Kalman, Rourke Professor Kevin Bedell and Professor David Broido.

The American Physical Society is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities.

–Ed Hayward | University Communications