American Political Science Association Edlersveld Career Achievement Award winner, Boston College Political Science Professor Kay L. Schlozman, with ASPA members Ray La Raja of UMass Amherst and Jeff Berry of Tufts University.  

The American Political Science Association has selected J. Joseph Moakley Professor of Political Science Kay Lehman Schlozman for its Samuel J. Eldersveld Career Achievement Award, which recognizes a scholar whose lifetime professional work has made an outstanding contribution to the field.

It's the latest honor Schlozman has received from APSA, the leading professional organization for the study of political science, with more than 13,000 members in more than 80 countries. She is a previous winner of APSA's Philip E. Converse Book Award, Rowman and Littlefield Award for innovative teaching in political science, and Frank J. Goodnow Award for distinguished service to the political science profession and APSA for her former service as secretary of the group and chair of its organized section on elections, public opinion and voting behavior.

"I was humbled, gratified and extremely surprised to learn that I had received this recognition," said Schlozman, who has been a faculty member at Boston College since 1974. "To be honored by my colleagues in this way means a great deal to me."

Schlozman—who was appointed as the University's inaugural Moakley Professor in 2002—is an acknowledged expert on citizen participation in American politics. She also researches broad areas of American political life, parties and elections, interest groups, voting and public opinion, political movements, money in politics, and the gender gap in citizen political activity. She is the co-author of five books, including The Unheavenly Chorus: Unequal Political Voice and The Broken Promise of American Democracy. She is also the editor of Elections in America.

Schlozman is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2012 received a PROSE Award from the American Association of Publishers. She is a graduate of Wellesley College and earned her master's and doctoral degrees in political science from the University of Chicago.

For more information about the award, visit the American Political Science Association website.

News & Public Affairs