The Thea Bowman AHANA and Intercultural Center is dedicated to fostering a welcoming, safe, and inclusive environment for students through support programs and resources, one-on-one conversations, academic counseling and mentorship opportunities, discussion groups, and resources to help students  navigate challenges during their time at BC.


 

LGBTQ+ Resource Guide

LGBTQ+ Student Support and Programming are transitioning into the BAIC from the Dean of Students Office (DOS) beginning in the fall of 2023.

Boston College honors the unique experiences and needs for support that LGBTQ+ students have as they navigate college. 
DOS has maintained this LGBTQ+ Resource Guide for the last 15 years and we are happy to continue that transition.

Our staff often meet with students one-on-one and can connect you to other people on campus who can support you and your needs. If you want to reach out to allies in the BC community, please take a look at the resource guide below. Each person on this list has agreed to be an ally and contact person for LGBTQ+ students at BC. Most have had training regarding being a support for LGBTQ+ students, and this list is updated annually to make sure you have access to the best possible resources. This list is not exhaustive!  Not being on this list does not indicate that someone is not an ally, these are just staff and faculty who we have directly asked to serve in this resource guide with because students often interact with their offices.  Are there other staff/faculty/departments that you think belong here? Let us know!  Email us at spectrum@bc.edu.

LGBTQ+ Resource Guide

Print

On Campus Allies and Resources

On Campus Allies and Resources

Athletics

Michael Harris, Associate Athletic Director
Conte Forum 308 | 2-6210 l harrisvs@bc.edu

Boston College Police Department (BCPD)

Jeff Postell, Lieutenant
Emergency  2-4444 | Non-Emergency 2-4440 l jeffrey.postell@bc.edu

Campus Ministry

Ellen Modica, Campus Minister
McElroy 226 | 2-4665 | ellen.modica@bc.edu

Rick Rossi, Campus Minister for Pastoral Counseling
McElroy 227 | 2-6592 | richard.rossi@bc.edu

Career Center

Joseph DuPont, Associate VP for Student Affairs
Southwell Hall | 2-3430 | joseph.dupont@bc.edu  

Connors Family Learning Center

Kathleen M. Duggan, Director
O’Neill Library 200 | 2-0893 | kathleen.duggan@bc.edu

Cecilie Joyner, Associate Director
2-4053 | reidce@bc.edu

Erin Farrow, Assistant Director
2-0835 | farrowe@bc.edu

Mary Rajner, Testing Services & Department Administrator
2-8055 | mary.rajner@bc.edu

 

Counseling Services

Gasson 001 | 2-3310 
Craig Burns, Director l craig.burns@bc.edu
Selina Guerra, Assistant Director l  selina.guerra@bc.edu

First-Year Experience

Mike Sacco, Executive Director
Stokes 179S | 2-3281 | michael.sacco@bc.edu        

Chris Darcy, Interim Director
Stokes 179S | c.darcy@bc.edu

Graduate Student Life

Hannah Chalufour, Assistant Director
Murray Graduate Student Center | 2-1855 l hannah.trost@bc.edu

Montserrat Coalition

Fr. Michael Davidson, S.J., Director
36 College Road| 2-3140| michael.davidson.3@bc.edu

Center for Student Wellness

Jeannine Kremer, Director
Gasson Hall 025 | jeannine.kremer@bc.edu

Office for Institutional Diversity

Patricia Lowe, Director
Brighton Campus, 129 Lake Street, Room 213 l 2-2323 | patricia.lowe@bc.edu

Office of Global Education

Samantha Lee, Program Assistant
Hovey House 105  | 2-0627 | oip@bc.edu

Vaughn Thornton, Program & Outreach Specialist
Hovey House | 2-1913 | thorntov@bc.edu

Office of Student Involvement

Roatha Kong, Interim Director
Carney Hall, Suite 147 | 2-3480 | roatha.kong@bc.edu

Office of University Fellowships

Jason Cavallari, Administrative Director
Stokes, S140 | 2-9259 | jason.cavallari@bc.edu

Residential Life

Dorrie Siqueiros, Director, Residential Education
Maloney Hall, Suite 413 | 2-3129 | dolores.siqueiros@bc.edu

Student Services

Agnes Jordan, Associate Director, General Services
Lyons Hall 101 | 2-3318 | agnes.jordan@bc.edu

Thea Bowman AHANA and Intercultural Center

Yvonne McBarnett, Director
Maloney Hall, Suite 455| 2-3359 l yvonne.mcbarnett@bc.edu

Ira Kirschner, Associate Director
Maloney Hall, Suite 455 | 2-3140 | ira.kirschner@bc.edu

Undergraduate Admission

Grant Gosselin, Director
Devlin Hall 208 | 2-3100 | john.mahoney.2@bc.edu

Kayte Hager, Senior Associate Director
Devlin Hall 208 | 2-4942 | giorgiok@bc.edu

Kristen Gallant, Senior Assistant Director
Devlin Hall 208 | 2-2391 | gallankr@bc.edu

University Harassment Counselor

Contact Page
Marie Elena Gioiella, University Harassment Counselor
129 Lake Street, Room 240D | 2-3340 | harassmentcounselor@bc.edu

University Health Services

Madelyn Rivera-Bellino MSN, ANP-BC (she/her/hers), Nurse Manager
2150 Commonwealth Avenue, Room #020 l madelyn.rivera@bc.edu 
Phone: 617-552-2659 | Fax: 617-552-3603

Women’s Center

Katie Dalton, Director
Maloney 441 | 2-6919 | kathryn.dalton@bc.edu

 

 

Campus Clubs and Organizations

Campus Clubs and Organizations

Allies of Boston College

A group of LGTBQ+ and allied students working to foster a more inclusive Boston College community.

Martí Boix, President  | boixm@bc.edu
Aidan Seguin, Vice President | seguina@bc.edu

GLBTQIA+ Leadership Council (QLC)

A governing body of UGBC focused on GLBTQ+ issues.
Aidan Seguin, Director | seguina@bc.edu
Nathan Schirtzinger | schirtzi@bc.edu

Graduate Students

Gaudete

LGBTQ+ graduate student group at the School of Theology and Ministry.
Board Contact To Be Updated
Website: Gaudete

Graduate Pride Alliance (GPA)

An organization sponsored by the Graduate Student Association (GSA) for any LGBTQ+ grad students & allies across all grad schools and programs at BC.
Sam Moore, President | mooreik@bc.edu
Website: GPA

Lambda Law Students Association

LGBTQ+ student group at the Law School.
Nonie Andersen, Co-Chair | anderajd@bc.edu and Mathew Santiago, Co-Chair | santiama@bc.edu
Group Email: lambdabclaw@gmail.com

Spectrum

LGBTQ+ student group at the School of Social Work.
Board Contact To Be Updated
Email: spectrumbcssw@gmail.com

Faculty/Staff

LGBT@BC

LGBT@BC is the affinity group for all BC staff and faculty who identify as part of the LGBTQ+ community. Join the LGBT@BC listserv to hear about events and other programming, or learn more on the LGBT@BC website.

 

Signature Programs and Events

Signature Programs and Events

Our office works to improve the LGBTQ+ student experience by offering support, education, outreach, programs, and opportunities for LGBTQ+ students including:

Pride Peers 

A mentoring program that pairs LGBTQ+ undergrads with upper-class LGBTQ+ peers and creates spaces to bond and reflects on sexual and gender identity.  

LGBTQ+ Community Dinners 

Casual monthly dinners where all LGBTQ+ and allied students are welcome to come together to eat, chat, laugh, and foster our community at Boston College!    

Discussion Groups

The Office of the Dean of Students offers private, reflective, and welcoming spaces for LGBTQ+ students to meet and engage in meaningful discussion around identity development.

Groups meet weekly for an hour and are open to anyone who wants a private and comfortable space to interact with peers exploring similar issues around what it means to identify as LGBTQ+ at BC and in the world. No appointments, formal arrangements, or commitments necessary--drop in whenever the support group is meeting and we'll be there waiting to welcome you with open arms, hearts, and minds!

Prism -a group for all LGBTQ+ and questioning students. Facilitated by queer and trans graduate students.

Transcend - a group for trans, nonbinary, agender, and genderfluid students as well as students who want a space to talk about exploring their gender identity. Facilitated by nonbinary and trans graduate students.

Lavender Graduation

A celebration that recognizes LGBTQ+ students of all backgrounds and acknowledges their contributions to the University. Graduating LGBTQ+ seniors and graduate students are recognized for their leadership, successes, and overall commitment and contributions to the LGTBQ+ community. Through such recognition, LGBTQ+ students may leave Boston College with a positive final experience, filling them with pride both in themselves and in their college experiences.

Spectrum Retreat

A free, confidential spring retreat where LGBTQ+ and questioning undergraduate students engage in reflection and exploration of their sexual and gender identities with LGBTQ+ student leaders and faculty mentors. 

Individual Support

Our doors are always open to anyone seeking support!  Please call or email Ira Kirschner anytime.

Academic Resources

Academic Resources

Carroll School of Management

Ethan Sullivan, Senior Associate Dean
Fulton 315 | 2-0459 l ethan.sullivan@bc.edu

Amy LaCombe, Professor of the Practice
Fulton 315 | 2-6827 l amy.lacombe@bc.edu

Amy Donegan, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Management Advising
Fulton 315 | 2-3431 l amy.donegan@bc.edu

Erica Graf, Assistant Dean of Academic and Student Services
Fulton 315 | 2-0462 l erica.graf@bc.edu

Connell School of Nursing

Anya Villatoro, Assistant Dean
Maloney 217 | 2-4541 | anya.villatoro@bc.edu

Lynch School of Education and Human Development 

Julia Whitcavitch DeVoy, Associate Dean
Campioin 114 l 2-4200 l julia.whitcavitch@bc.edu

Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences

Joseph Desciak, Associate Dean for Freshmen
Director of the Academic Advising Center
Stokes 140S| 2-9259 | joseph.desciak@bc.edu  

Treseanne Ainsworth, Associate Dean for Sophomores
Stokes S171 | 2-2800 | treseanne.ainsworth@bc.edu

Jeffrey Lamoureux, Associate Dean for Juniors
Stokes S132 I 2-2800 I jeffrey.lamoureux@bc.edu

Tom Mogan, Associate Dean for Seniors
Stokes 140S | 2-2800 I mogant@bc.edu

Woods College of Advancing Studies

Karen Muncaster, Dean
St. Mary’s Hall S052 I 2-3455 I karen.muncaster@bc.edu

Graduate Students

Boston College Law School
Emily Libby, Assistant Dean
Stuart House M308 l 2-9187 l emily.libby@bc.edu

Connell School of Nursing

M. Colleen Simonelli, Associate Dean
Maloney 218 | 2-3232 | colleen.simonelli@bc.edu

Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences

Candace Hetzner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Gasson 108 | 2-0714 | candace.hetzner@bc.edu

School of Social Work

Teresa Touhey Schirmer, LICSW, Associate Dean
McGuinn 136 | 2-4762 | teresa.schirmer@bc.edu

School of Theology and Ministry

Jacqueline M. Regan, M.Div., M.A., Associate Dean
Simboli Hall 225 | 2-6504 | jacqueline.regan.2@bc.edu

Woods College of Advancing Studies

Karen Muncaster, Dean
St. Mary’s Hall S052 I 2-3455 I karen.muncaster@bc.edu

Off Campus Referrals

Off Campus Referrals

Boston Alliance of LGBTQ Youth (BAGLY) 
28 Court Square, Boston, MA | 617-227-4313

Boston Area Rape Crisis Center (BARCC) 
989 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA  
24-Hour Hotline: 800-841-8371 

Boston GLASS 
75 Amory St. Jamaica Plain, MA | 857-399-1920 

Bisexual Resource Center | 617-424-9595 

Fenway Community Health Center 
1340 Boylston Street, Boston, MA | 617-267-0900 

Sidney Borum Jr. Health Center 
75 Kneeland Street, Boston, MA | 617.457.8140

South End Community Health Center 
1601 Washington Street, Boston, MA | 617-425-2000

The Network/La Red (TNLR) 617-742-4911 (voice) | 800-832-1901 (Toll-Free) 

Trans LifeLine 24-Hour Peer Support Hotline | 877-565-8860 

The Trevor Project 24-Hour Hotline | 866-438-7386

Get Immediate Help

Get Immediate Help

Need Support?

Part of being human and in community is sometimes needing support from others.  We are here for you!   

If you are in crisis:

If you think you are at risk of harming yourself or others please immediately call University Counseling Services at 617–552–3310, during regular working hours. If after hours you can still contact UCS at 617-552-3310 and follow prompts to speak with a clinician. More information can be found at the UCS website.  Students can also call BCPD at 617-552-4444 for any emergency situation or to ask for help.

Other LGBTQ-specifc crisis hotlines are:

  • The Trevor Project: (866) 488-7386
  • The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender National Hotline: (888) 843-4564
  • Trans Lifeline: (877) 565-8860

If you are not in crisis:

The professional and graduate student staff in Student Outreach and Support Services are here to help. You do not have to be sure that you are part of the LGBTQ+ community to reach out for support and we support students with more than just aspects of their sexuality or gender identity. We routinely work with students who are exploring or questioning their identities and also with LGBTQ+ students who need support in other areas of their lives.  You can call us at 617-552-3470, email: student.support@bc.edu, or email any of our staff directly.

You can also join us at our weekly discussion groups. 

If you feel that you have been subject to a violation of the University’s “bias-motivated conduct policy,” please also see information from the Office of the Dean of Students regarding reporting any allegations of misconduct.

 

Information for Faculty and Staff

Information for Faculty and Staff

Information for Faculty and Staff

The BAIC is proud to offer training to any department or office that would like us to work with their faculty and/or staff to ensure competence and confidence when working with our LGBTQ+ students!  Our sessions can be tailored to your needs in terms of length and content, and will cover many topics affecting LGBTQ+ identity construction so that you can be the best possible resource for LGBTQ+ students at BC. 

Contact Ira Kirschner for more information.