University Provost and Dean of Faculties David Quigley has announced the members of the search committee for the next Boston College Law School dean.

Quigley, who is the committee chair, will be joined by Law School Associate Clinical Professor and Director of the BC Innocence Program Sharon Beckman; Founders Professor of Law Mary Sarah Bilder; Haub Vice President for University Mission and Ministry Jack T. Butler, S.J.; Mara Hermano, vice president for Institutional Research and Planning; Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences Dean and Professor of Law and Political Science Gregory A. Kalscheur, S.J.; Darald and Juliet Libby Professor of Law and Theology M. Cathleen Kaveny; Professor of Law Shu-Yi Oei; Professor of Law Vlad Perju; and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs Akua Sarr.

Quigley also announced that the University has retained Storbeck Search, a member of the Diversified Search Group, ranked by Forbes magazine in 2020 as one of the top five executive search firms in the country.

The search firm and committee will collaborate to name a new BC Law dean to succeed Vincent D. Rougeau, who was appointed the 33rd president of the College of the Holy Cross in February. Professor of Law and Dr. Thomas F. Carney Distinguished Scholar Diane M. Ring began serving as interim dean of the Law School in June.

“The committee’s work will span the next academic year and we hope to conclude a successful search by spring 2022,” said Quigley. “Furthermore, there will be various opportunities for community input during the fall semester.” 

Phil Gloudemans | University Communications | August 2021