The National Academy of Education has announced that Jon M. Wargo, an assistant professor in the Teaching, Curriculum, and Society department at the Lynch School of Education and Human Development, will receive a 2020 National Academy of Education/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Jon Wargo

Jon Wargo

Wargo is one of 30 postdoctoral fellows selected from a pool of over 200 applicants to receive a $70,000 stipend that will underwrite a one-year leave, as well as professional development funding designed to support early-career researchers whose projects address critical issues in the history, theory, or practice of formal or informal education at the national and international levels.

Wargo is the second consecutive NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship recipient from the Lynch School; Gabrielle Oliveira, an assistant professor in the Teaching, Curriculum, and Society department, was a 2019 winner.

“The NAEd/Spencer Fellowship Program cultivates the next generation of education scholars by funding their research projects and providing resources to strengthen their research and research training, including mentorship from NAEd members," said NAEd President Gloria Ladson-Billings. "We consider these fellows to be among the best in their respective fields, and I look forward to working with them in the coming year.”

“We are thrilled that for the second year in a row, one of our junior faculty members has won a NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship,” said Stanton E.F. Wortham, the Charles F. Donovan, S.J., dean of the Lynch School.  “Jon Wargo is doing influential, cutting-edge work in elementary education, and it’s wonderful to see this well-deserved recognition for him, which reflects the outstanding quality of our colleagues, and solidifies our school’s reputation for research excellence.”

The Washington, D.C.-based National Academy of Education is a nonprofit, non-governmental organization founded in 1965 that advances high-quality research to improve education policy and practice.  The NAEd/Spencer Fellowships, in association with the Spencer Foundation, have been awarded since 1998.

Phil Gloudemans | University Communications | June 2020