19th Annotation

19th Annotation of the Spiritual Exercises

The Spiritual Exercises are a compilation of meditations, prayers, and contemplative practices developed by St. Ignatius Loyola to help people deepen their relationships with God. For centuries the Exercises were most commonly given as a “long retreat” of about 30 days in solitude and silence. In recent years, there has been a renewed emphasis on the Spiritual Exercises as a program for lay people. The most common way of going through the Exercises now is a “retreat in daily life,” also know as the 19th Annotation, which involves an eight-month program of prayer and meetings with a spiritual director, following a pattern of meditation, contemplation, and scripture reading. Through this experience, retreatants come to a greater awareness of God’s presence in their lives.

The 2019-2020 program is now full.

Group Meeting Schedule 2019-2020
Wednesdays, 7 to 8:30 PM
Boston College’s Brighton Campus

Wednesday, September 4, (meeting #1) – Orientation

Wednesday, Sept 18, (meeting #2) – Small Group Dynamic. Overview upcoming Weeks 1 & 2

Wednesday, Oct 2, (meeting #3) – Review Weeks 1 & 2 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 3 & 4

Wednesday, Oct 16, (meeting #4) – Review Weeks 3 & 4 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 5 & 6

Wednesday, Oct 30, (meeting #5) – Review Weeks 5 & 6 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 7 & 8

Wednesday, Nov 13, (meeting #6) – Review Weeks 7 & 8 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 9 & 10

Wednesday, Dec 4, (meeting #7) – Review Weeks 9 & 10 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 11 & 12

Wednesday, Dec 18, (meeting #8) – Review Weeks 11 & 12 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 13 & 14 plus Advent/Christmas Mass

Wednesday, Jan 8, (meeting #9) – Review Weeks 13 & 14 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 15 & 16

Wednesday, Jan 22, (meeting #10) – Review Weeks 15 & 16 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 17 & 18

Wednesday, Feb 5, (meeting #11) – Review Weeks 17 & 18 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 19 & 20

Wednesday, Feb 19, (meeting #12) – Review Weeks 19 & 20 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 21 & 22

Wednesday, March 4, (meeting #13) – Review Weeks 21 & 22 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 23 & 24

Wednesday, March 18, (meeting #14) – Review Weeks 23 & 24 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 25 & 26

Wednesday, Apr 1, (meeting #15) – Review Weeks 25 & 26 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 27 & 28

Wednesday, Apr 15, (meeting #16) – Review Weeks 27 & 28 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 29 & 30

Wednesday, April 29, (meeting #17) – Review Weeks 29 & 30 (Sharing) Overview upcoming Weeks 31 & 32

Wednesday, May 13, (meeting #18) – Gathering Our Graces, Closing Liturgy and refreshments

Participants must be committed to:

  1. One hour a day of private prayer
  2. A short period of reflection on prayer experience, taking notes of the insights one has received
  3. Meeting weekly:
    • Twice a month with a spiritual guide
    • On the intermittent weeks coming together for group prayer and discussion from 7 to 8:30 PM
 on Boston College’s Brighton Campus

There is no participation fee for this retreat.

The Center has scheduled two Supervisory Meetings during this academic year to assist the needs of the Spiritual Directors. All Spiritual Directors are required to attend from 5 to 6:30 PM. The meetings will be held at 36 College Road, Garden Level, and dinner will be provided.

Monday, October 21, 2019

Monday, February 24, 2020