Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Charitable Walks

Charitable Walks

We have a new exciting opportunity, which incorporates BC's mission of being "men and women for others" into our HEALTHY YOU program.

Join fellow BC employees in a walk for one of the following great causes! To join a team, please contact a Team Leader listed below. They will assist you with the registration process.  All participants will receive a complementary BC t-shirt. T-shirts will be distributed by Team Leaders on the day of the walk. Please note that any registration fees and/or fundraising requirements are to be incurred by participants.

We are still looking for Team Leaders for a few of the walks. If you are interested in being the Team Leader, please contact Nicole Petitti at nicole.petitti@bc.edu. Team Leaders function as the point person for their walk, under the team name "Boston College HEALTHY YOU team.” In addition to receiving a complimentary BC t-shirt, Team Leaders will also receive a BC baseball cap.

While steps will only be counted towards the WAC competition from charitable walks that fall between Oct-Nov and Apr-May, all participants receive the benefit of getting exercise and walking for a good cause!

 

2014-2015 Charitable Walks

The 2014 Boston Heat Walk

Date: Saturday, September 6, 2014
Team Leader needed
Website: http://heartwalk.kintera.org/faf/home/default.asp?ievent=1093234

Jimmy Fund Walk
Date: Sunday, September 21, 2014
Team Leader: Lindsey Itzkowitz
Email:  lindsey.itzkowitz@bc.edu
Website: http://www.jimmyfundwalk.org/

file

Jimmy Fund Walk Fall 2014

 

11th Annual Brian Honan 5K Run/Walk
Date: Sunday, September 21, 2014
Team Leader: Stephen Montgomery
Email: stephen.montgomery@bc.edu
Website: http://www.brianhonan.org/

Walk to End Alzheimer’s
Date: Sunday, September 28, 2014
Team Leader: Nicole Petitti
Email: nicole.petitti@bc.edu
Website: http://act.alz.org/

Komen Massachusetts Race for the Cure
Date: Sunday, September 28, 2014
Team Leader: Karina Ovalles
Emails: karina.ovalles@bc.edu
Website: www.komenmass.org

Making Strides of Boston
Date: Sunday, October 05, 2014
Team Leader: Sarah Sletzinger
Email: sarah.sletzinger@bc.edu
Website: http://makingstrides.acsevents.org/

file

Making Strides Fall 2014

 

The Walk Against Breast Cancer (Holliston, MA)
Date: Sunday, October 19, 2014
Team Leader: Colleen Simonelli
Email: mary.simonelli@bc.edu
Website: http://www.hollistonwalks.org

Welles Remy Crowther Red Bandanna 5k
Date: Saturday, October 25, 2014
Team Leaders: Jenn Cole and Ginny Greeley
Email: colejn@bc.edu and virginia.greeley@bc.edu
Website: /offices/service/welles5k.html

Boston Walk to Defeat ALS
Date: Saturday, October 25, 2014
Team Leaders: Monetta Edwards and Lorri Edwards
Emails: monetta.edwards@bc.edu and lorri.edwards@bc.edu
Website: http://webma.alsa.org/

BC Race to Educate
Date: TBD in Spring 2015
Team Leader: Rachael Hennessey-Crowell
Email: rachael.crowell@bc.edu
Website: http://bcracetoeducate.com/

The Walk for Hunger
Date: TBD in Spring 2015
Team Leaders: Molly Kerrigan and Colleen Simonelli
Emails: molly.kerrigan@bc.edu and colleen.simonelli@bc.edu
Website: http://www.projectbread.org/walk-for-hunger/

AIDS Walk & 5k Run
Date: Sunday, June 7, 2015
Team Leader needed
Website: http://action.aac.org/

 

If you would like to recommend a preferred charitable walk that you do not see on this list, please email all details of the walk to Nicole Petitti at nicole.petitti@bc.edu, for consideration.

Thank you for your interest in supporting these causes!  

 

Happy Walking!