Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Adjunct and Non-tenure-track Faculty

faculty handbook

he University Statutes II.2 define The Adjunct Faculty as "those persons holding instructional and/or research positions without contract of appointment to the faculty.” Adjunct faculty may be full-time, or part-time, and may be appointed on a short- or longer-term basis. For purposes of clarifying the application of the University Statutes, the term non-tenure-track faculty shall be used to refer to all full-time adjunct faculty.  Part-time adjunct faculty will continue to be referred to as "adjunct.  Non-tenure-track faculty are appointed by the Provost on the recommendation of the Dean and/or Department Chairperson, and their contracts may be renewed. The Dean and/or Department Chairperson may recommend reappointment of a non-tenure-track faculty member only after a review of the non-tenure-track faculty member’s performance by the tenured faculty of the Department (University Statutes II.2).

“Adjunct faculty appointments may be made with the titles of adjunct professor, adjunct associate professor, adjunct assistant professor, adjunct instructor, lecturer, special lecturer, research professor, associate research professor, assistant research professor, and research instructor.” (University Statutes II.2). Particular titles that are appropriate to the individual’s role and/or discipline may be used as an alternative for the title “adjunct” though, for university-wide purposes, the individual remains a member of The Adjunct Faculty. Each dean must receive written approval for the titles to be used in his or her school from the Provost.

Non-tenure-track faculty possess rights and privileges relating to academic freedom. They are not eligible for tenure, nor are they eligible to vote on matters concerning the promotion of tenure-track faculty.  However, each non-tenure-track faculty member shall have the rights and privileges described below. Individual schools may establish additional policies regarding their non-tenure-track faculty members, provided these policies do not conflict with the university-wide policies and have the written approval of the Provost.

Promotion of Non-tenure-track Faculty

Each school will establish a committee to review the promotion of non-tenure-track faculty, and a procedure for this review, according to the following guidelines:

  • Promotion to clinical associate professor, associate professor of the practice, senior lecturer, research associate professor, etc. requires a significant record of excellence in the capacity for which the faculty member was hired, and excellent departmental, school, and/or university service.  Excellence will be defined according to the standards of the discipline.
  • Promotion to clinical professor, professor of the practice, distinguished senior lecturer, research professor, etc. should be reserved for faculty members who demonstrate distinction in the capacity for which they were hired, and distinctive departmental and school service.   Distinction will be defined according to the standards of the discipline.

The dean will send his or her recommendation to the Provost who will make the final decision on each such promotion.

Voting and Other Rights of Non-tenure-track Faculty

Non-tenure-track faculty members are not eligible to serve on university-wide statutory committees established by provision of the University Statutes. These statutory committees include the Faculty Hearing Committee, the Faculty Review Panel, and the Faculty Grievance Committee. In all other cases the Provost will determine the eligibility of non-tenure-track faculty to vote in university-wide elections and to serve on university-wide committees. Voting rights of non-tenure-track faculty in department or school elections or on departmental or school issues, unless restricted to The Faculty or otherwise limited by the University Statutes, may be decided within departments and schools. Service on school or departmental committees, unless restricted to The Faculty or otherwise limited by the University Statutes, may be decided within departments and schools.

All provisions of the Faculty Handbook apply to non-tenure-track faculty, with the exception of those policies expressly reserved for tenured or tenure-track faculty. While non-tenure-track faculty are not excluded from various other programs, it is the expectation that the particular focus of their appointments will make application for certain programs appropriate and for other programs less appropriate, e.g., research faculty might apply for research development proposal funds, while faculty whose responsibilities are focused on teaching might appropriately seek teaching/advising grants.

Individual schools or departments will determine the school or departmental support activities or opportunities that will be available to non-tenure-track faculty in their divisions to assist them in fulfilling their specific responsibilities.

Due-process for non-tenure-track faculty

Because non-tenure-track faculty cannot bring cases to the University’s statutory committees (Hearing, Review, and Grievance), the Provost appoints a Grievance Committee for the Non-tenure-track Faculty, consisting of three non-tenure-track and two tenured faculty serving three year terms, which considers cases according to the procedures prescribed in the University Statutes II.11.C.

The Grievance Committee for the Non-tenure-track Faculty in 2016-17 includes:

Alexis Anderson

Colleen Simonelli

Rob Savage

Alan Kafka

Ana Martinez-Aleman