Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

University Reseach Council

faculty handbook


The University Research Council advises The Provost and Dean of Faculties on University-wide research policies and promotes effective research at Boston College.

The Council consists of two faculty members from the Sciences, two from the Social Sciences, and two from the Humanities, and one each from Education, Law, Management, Nursing, and Social Work. There is also one representative from the Research Institutes (Institute for Space Research, Weston Observatory, SWRI, etc.), two graduate students, and one undergraduate student.

Faculty members serve three-year terms and are appointed by the Provost upon recommendation of their department chairpersons and deans. The Vice Provost for Research and the Director of Research Administration are ex officio members, with the former serving as Chairperson and the latter as Executive Secretary.