Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Office of News & Public Affairs

Boston College Graduate Students Honored for Excellence in Teaching, Research

doctoral student kelly dumais honored for outstanding research

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. (May 2014) – Select Boston College graduate students were presented with Donald J. White Teaching Excellence Awards in recognition of their excellence as teaching fellows or teaching assistants. The awards, named after the former dean of the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, were presented to the students by Candace Hetzner, associate dean for academic affairs in the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, at a campus ceremony on April 30.

In addition, Kelly Dumais, a doctoral student in the Psychology Department, was awarded the Engelhard Pingree Fellowship for 2014-15. This honor recognizes a student whose work has made the greatest contribution to the research mission of the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences.

Dumais works in the neuroscience laboratory of Psychology Assistant Professor Alexa Veenema. She is author of a number of papers, posters, and publications, including articles in the peer-reviewed journals Neuroscience and Hormones and Behavior.

"Kelly has recently been awarded the prestigious National Institute of Health Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award Predoctoral Fellowship. This highly competitive award is given to promising doctoral candidates who have the potential to become productive, independent researchers," said Hetzner. She also noted that Dumais has actively participated in neuroscience professional societies and taught and mentored a large number of BC undergraduates.

Jillian Maxey, a doctoral candidate in theology and one of the award recipients, was invited to address the gathering. Read the text of her reflection on 'Teaching Millennials as Millennial,' here.

The Donald J. White Teaching Excellence Award honorees were:

Douglas Lepisto (Carroll School of Management)
Andrea Tunarosa (Carroll School of Management)

Eileen F. Searle (Connell School of Nursing)
Chelsea Spindel (Connell School of Nursing)

Arianne Babina (Biology)
Pamela Cassiani (Biology)
Adam Jenkins (Biology)
Kim Regna (Biology)
Jaclyn Stromp Peraino (Biology)

Kayla Delle Chiaie (Chemistry)
Joseph Morabito (Chemistry)
Brian Sneed (Chemistry)
Adam Szymaniak (Chemistry)
Elsie Yu (Chemistry)

Oluwaseyi Bolarinwa (Earth & Environmental Sciences Dept.)
Christopher Soeller
(Earth & Environmental Sciences Dept.)

Rossella Calvi (Economics Dept.)
Bertan Turhan (Economics Dept.)

Fabiana Cabral (English Dept.)
Deanna Malvesti (English Dept.)
Linda Martin (English Dept.)
Laura Sterrett (English Dept.)

Jared Hardesty (History Dept.)
Shannon Monaghan (History Dept.)

Thomas Crawford (Mathematics Dept.)
Nicholas Vlamis (Mathematics Dept.)
Andrew Yarmola (Mathematics Dept.)

Marina Denischik (Philosophy Dept.)
Gregory Floyd (Philosophy Dept.)
Michael Frost (Philosophy Dept.)
Zhuoyao Li (Philosophy Dept.)

Rebecca Dally  (Physics Dept.)
Matthew Heine (Physics Dept.)

Gregory Burnep (Political Science Dept.)
Kimberley Stewart Burns (Political Science Dept.)

Christina Reppucci (Psychology Dept.)

Lauren Bergeron (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)
Ana Conboy (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)
Amy Coulter (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)
Daniel Cuenca (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)
Michaela Kametani-Rider (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)
Giuliana La Rosa (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)
Lori Mele (Romance Languages & Literatures Dept.)

Mathieu Destruel (Slavic & Eastern Languages & Literatures Dept.)

Kimberly Bachechi (Sociology Dept.)
Fatima Sattar (Sociology Dept.)

Jillian Maxey (Theology Dept.)
Joshua Snyder (Theology Dept.)

Meghan Blattner (Lynch School of Education)
Paul Brown (Lynch School of Education)
Cristina Hunter (Lynch School of Education)
Caroline Vuilleumier (Lynch School of Education)


--Office of News & Public Affairs