Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Office of News & Public Affairs

BC chapter of AAUP receives award

CHESTNUT HILL, MA (July 2010) --The Boston College Chapter of the American Association of University Professors was honored with the AAUP’s Beatrice G. Konheim Award at the organization’s national conference in Washington, DC. The Konheim Award recognizes an AAUP chapter for “outstanding achievement in advancing the Association’s objectives in academic freedom, student rights and freedoms, the status of academic women, the elimination of discrimination against minorities, or the establishment of equal opportunity for members of college and university faculties.”

Boston College Sociology Associate Professor Michael Malec receives the Beatrice G. Konheim Award from BC alumnus and Holy Cross Professor Charles Baker and BC Professor Alan Lawson, an AAUP faculty member. (Photo by Michael Ferguson)

The BC chapter received the honor in only its first year of activity since its re-establishment. Boston College alumnus Charles Baker, a professor at Holy Cross and executive secretary of the Massachusetts state conference of AAUP, nominated Boston College for the award.

“We are grateful to the AAUP for recognizing our efforts in this first year of our re-establishment of an AAUP chapter on the BC campus. It is truly an honor for our chapter members to have received the Konheim Award,” said Arts and Sciences Honors Program Adj. Associate Professor Susan Michalczyk, president of the Boston College chapter. “We look forward to continuing our efforts to advance the AAUP’s objectives as we strive to maintain the highest of academic standards among our faculty.”

In addition to Michalczyk, the other executive board members of the BC chapter are: Professor of Chemistry Michael Clarke; Arts and Sciences Honors Program Adj. Associate Professor Tim Duket; Associate Professor of Nursing Pamela Grace; Associate Professor of Sociology Michael Malec; Associate Professor of Nursing Joyce Pulcini, and Newton College Alumnae Professor of English Judith Wilt.

John Mahoney

Also at the conference, the AAUP honored Boston College Rattigan Professor of English Emeritus John L. Mahoney for 50 years of “meritorious support of its principles and standards.”

The American Association of University Professors is a nonprofit charitable and educational organization that promotes academic freedom by supporting tenure, academic due process, shared governance and standards of quality in higher education. The AAUP has over 47,000 members at colleges and universities throughout the United States.

--Kathleen Sullivan, Boston College Office of News & Public Affairs,