Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Office of News & Public Affairs

Lynch School's Diana Pullin Named AERA Fellow

Honored for Outstanding Accomplishments in Education Research

CHESTNUT HILL, MA (April 2009) - Lynch School of Education Professor Diana Pullin is one of 44 scholars to be named American Educational Research Association Fellows in recognition of exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant  contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

Diana PullinThe AERA Fellows are known both nationally and internationally for their outstanding contributions to education research. Through this Fellows Program, the Association aims to convey its commitment to excellence in research and to underscore to new scholars the importance of sustained research contributions in the field.

A former dean of BC's School of Education, Pullin specializes in testing and the law, equity issues in testing, education law and policy, rights of students with disabilities and teacher performance assessment. She is a member of the Bar Association of the states of Iowa and Massachusetts and admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court, among other judicial districts.

She is author or co-author of numerous publications, and previously has received a Distinguished Teacher Award from Boston College and a Crystal Apple Award, given to Outstanding Educators by the College of Education of Michigan State University. 

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the national interdisciplinary research association for approximately 25,000 scholars who undertake research in education. Founded in 1916 and headquartered in Washington, D.C., AERA aims to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.

New fellows have been nominated by peers, selected and recommended by the Fellows Program Committee, and approved by the elected Council governing AERA.