Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Office of News & Public Affairs

BC's Andy Hargreaves Receives Honorary Degree from Uppsala University in Sweden


CHESTNUT HILL, MA (1-22-10) - Andy Hargreaves, holder of the Thomas More Brennan Chair at Boston College's Lynch School of Education, joined the distinguished company of former United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan, linguist Noam Chomsky and the late anthropologist Claude Levi-Strauss this month when he received an honorary degree from Sweden's prestigious Uppsala University.

Andy Hargreaves
Andy Hargreaves

Hargreaves was honored January 22 at the winter convocation ceremonies of Sweden’s oldest university. The honorary degree recognizes scholars and intellectuals from outside of the country whose work has had a significant impact on Swedish scholarship or Swedish life.

Founded in 1477, Uppsala University is the oldest university in the Nordic countries and one of the highest ranked seats of learning in Northern Europe.

Hargreaves' work also has earned honors from two other organizations. The National Staff Development Council presented the Staff Development Book of the Year Award to Change Wars (Solution Tree, 2008), which was co-edited by Hargreaves.

In addition, Hargreaves has been elected as a fellow of Britain’s Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce, which describes its honorees as "achievers and influencers" who come "from an extraordinary range of backgrounds and are committed to civic innovation and social progress."

Most recently, Hargreaves co-authored The Fourth Way (Corwin Press, 2009) with Lynch School of Education colleague Dennis Shirley.

Founding Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Educational Change, Hargreaves initiated and coordinated the editing of the International Handbook of Educational Change (Springer, 2009).

His current research interests include how schools learn from other schools and the sustainability of change and leadership in education, business, sport, and health.

--Ed Hayward, associate director of the Office of News & Public Affairs, can be reached at