Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Campus Guide

stuart house


Stuart House

Immediately adjoining the Law Library is the five-story main Law School building, Stuart House; it is named for Sr. Janet Erskine Stuart, RSCJ, sixth Superior General of the Society of the Sacred Heart. Stuart House provides academic, administrative, and service facilities, including a 450-seat dining hall. The Smith Wing of Stuart House contains offices for faculty and for student organizations, as well as the Law School bookstore.

The East Wing, with its soaring atrium entry, includes classrooms as well as faculty and administrative offices. It also houses the John J. and Mary Daly Curtin Public Interest Center, named for John J. Curtin, Jr. ('57), past president of the American Bar Association and the Boston Bar Association. With dataports built into desktops, the East Wing has earned the Boston College Law School the reputation of being one of the "most wired" law schools in the country.

The west wing of Stuart House is called the Kenny-Cottle Wing, named for Sr. Eleanor Sampson Kenny, RSCJ, first president of Newton College; and Mrs. Edgar G. Cottle, benefactor of the college. Originally this part of the building was used as the college library. With the completion of the new Law School Library in 1996, this wing is being renovated for use as dining and recreational facilities.

« Back | Next »