Google Drive - Smart Sharing
checklist to prevent sharing mistakes in google drive
Google Drive is a great tool for collaboration on files with other people. However, with more people working on a file, there is a greater risk that the file will accidentally be shared with the wrong parties and information could get into the wrong hands. Therefore, whenever you share a Google Drive file with other people, please review the following check-list to make sure you are protecting your shared documents:
- Verify you are sharing with the correct email address before sharing. Learn about how to share files and folders.
- If you give someone permission to edit a document in Google Drive, they can share the file with other people. Ask those who you share with to be cautious when re-sharing. Learn how to prevent re-sharing.
- Remember, whomever you share with can create a copy of your document, even if you only give them permission to view your document. Learn how to prevent others from copying, printing, or downloading your document.
- Use “Link Sharing” with caution. When you enable “Get shareable link” by default “Anyone at BC with the link can view.” If you think there are people at BC who should not have access to view the file, do not use this feature. Instead, share with individuals only. Learn about how to use Link Sharing.
- Share folders cautiously. When you share a folder with someone, they then have access to all the files in the folder. Only share a folder if you are certain all files in the folder can also be shared. Learn how to share folders.
- Revoke sharing rights when they are no longer needed. Learn how to revoke access to a document
- Periodically, verify security permissions on secure documents. Learn how to see who has access to a document and change your sharing settings.
- IMPORTANT: Some information should never be stored in Google Drive. Please review the Regulated Data Chart to see what types of data can be stored in Google Drive.