Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

The Barth Award

in honor of fr. robert barth, s.j.

J. Robert Barth, S.J.

The College of Arts and Sciences has established an annual award in honor of former Dean J. Robert Barth, S.J., and his support for the arts.

The J. Robert Barth, S.J., Award for Excellence in the Arts will be given each year at Commencement to a senior who has made an outstanding contribution to Boston College in the fine or performing arts, such as music, theater, dance, film or other visual media throughout their college career.

Fr. Barth is credited with revitalizing the arts at Boston College. He first came to the University as the Thomas I. Gasson Professor in 1985. As dean, he established the Music and Theatre departments, oversaw the opening of the McMullen Museum of Art, and was the first chair of the Boston College Arts Council.


Barth Award Recipients

2002 - Jonathan Kaczorowski

2003 - Daniel Sanez

2004 - Katherine Weiss

2005 - Lindsay Albert

2006 - Anthony and William Nunziata

2007 - Patricia Noonan

2008 - Jeff Augustin

2009 - Daniel Gostin

2010 - Sarah Lang

2011 - Steven Bass

2012 - John Delfino

2013 - Rachel Butler

2014 - Jonathan Mott

2015 - Sophia Gorgens

2016 - Caitlin Mason

2017 - Audra Hampsch