Boston College Chemistry Department Student Awards Ceremony May 10, 2021



Welcome to the 2021 ceremony!

While we again cannot celebrate this year's achievements in person, we are happy to share a moment where we can acknowledge the hard work and dedication shown by these award recipients.

Please leave yourselves muted until it is your turn to present or express a thank you. You may "applaud" with the reaction buttons after each award is presented.

~ Undergraduate Awards ~

The Boston College Excellence in Chemistry Award

Suzanna Diehl

The Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence Award

Kaitlin Malley

The 2021 ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry

Gretchen Brown

The 2021 ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry

Alinda Dersjant

The 2020 ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry

Tanner Myers

The 2021 ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

Sean Bryant

2021 Brian Lawrence Gray Prize

Jason Wu

2021 Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award for Honors Modern Chemistry

Jennifer Lin

2021 Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award for General Chemistry sponsored by MacMillan Publishers

Courtney Redey

Kozarich Summer Undergraduate Research Fellows of 2020

Isaac Kim

Tara McDonald

Tanner Myers

Alexandra Steigmeyer

Kozarich Summer Undergraduate Research Fellows of 2021

Marissa Fontaine

Catherine Hazard

Stephanie Moran

Aman Sinha

Yichen Weng

Haden Wikar

Phi Beta Kappa Initiates

Class of 2021

Lauren Cirone

Kaitlin Malley

Ryan Kauper

Olivia Lavidor

Matthew Yan

Dean's Scholars

Arlin Arias

Nicholas Dulock

Amanda Garza

Tara McDonald

Christopher Rauchet

Sophomore Scholars

Elizabeth Donahue

Catherine Hazard

Sean Morgan

Emma Sabbadini

Aman Sinha

Jason Wu

Fizah Yousuf

2021 Scholars of the College

Gretchen Brown, Improving N-Carboxyanhydride Polymerization through NCA Protection and Bis(imino)pyridine Iron(I) Complex Modification

Jeffery Byers, advisor

Emma Saart, Investigating Mitochondrial Cysteine Oxidation

Eranthie Weerapana, advisor

Kaitlin Malley, Developing Improved Tyrosyl-tRNAs for Expanding the Genetic Code of Mammalian Cells

Abhishek Chatterjee, advisor

2021 Scholars of the College, continued

Matthew Yan, Selective Inhibition of Glucose in Tumors to Analyze the Cachectic Phenotype

Nada Kalaany/Eranthie Weerapana, advisors

American Chemical Society Student Chapter

Officers:

Matthew Yan, President

Jennifer Kenney, Vice-President

Olivia Lavidor, Treasurer

Roy Li, Secretary

Women in Science and Technology

Leadership Team:

Carolyn Ream

Jenna Santos

Cosette Newcomb

~ Graduate Awards ~

Boston College Dean's Mathematics and Science Award

Katherine Grasso

The Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Engelhard Pingree Fellow for 2020-2021

Ailun "Ellen" Wang

Dissertation Fellowship

Haochuan Zhang

LaMattina Family Graduate Fellowship in Chemical Synthesis

Ahmet Yesilcimen

LaMattina Family Graduate Scholars in Chemical Synthesis

Jingjing Xie

Chenlong Zhang

Chet Tyrol

Chemistry Department Graduate Student Fellowships

Jiangwei "Eric" Liu

Wei-Shang "Victor" Lo

Qianni Peng

Can Qin

Qiwen Su

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program - Honorable Mention

Connor Gallacher

Gavin Giardino

Arianna Osgood

The Brian Lawrence Gray Award for Best Posters at the BC Chemistry Graduate Symposium

Rachel Huang

Connor Gallacher

Wan-Chen "Cindy" Lee

2020-2021 Graduate Student Representatives

Sarah Mann

Arianna Osgood

Bingcong "Angela" Xiong

The Donald J. White Teaching Excellence Awards

Mario "Ricky" Alvarado

Kevin Byrne

Cristina Cheng

Casey Howshall

Wei-Shang "Victor" Lo

Shawn Ng

