Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

The Clough Center for the Study of Constitutional Democracy

The Rise and Fall (?) of World Constitutionalism

Thursday, April 14, 2016
5:00 p.m.
Barat House, Boston College Law School

with Bruce Ackerman, Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science at Yale University

Part of The Clough Distinguished Lectures in Jurisprudence


about the speaker


Bruce Ackerman

Bruce Ackerman is Sterling Professor of Law and Political Science at Yale, and the author of fifteen books that have had a broad influence in political philosophy, constitutional law, and public policy. His major works include Social Justice in the Liberal State and his multivolume constitutional history, We the People. His most recent books are We the People: The Civil Rights Revolution (2014), The Decline and Fall of the American Republic (2010), The Failure of the Founding Fathers (2005), and Before the Next Attack (2006). His book, The Stakeholder Society (with Anne Alstott), served as a basis for Tony Blair’s recent introduction of child investment accounts in the United Kingdom, and his book, Deliberation Day (with James Fishkin) served as a basis for “PBS Deliberation Day”, a national series of citizen deliberations produced by McNeill-Lehrer on national television for the 2004 elections. In 2010, he was named by Foreign Policy magazine to its list of top global thinkers. He also writes for the general public, contributing frequently to The New York TimesWashington Post and The Los Angeles Times, and has served, without charge, as a lawyer on matters of public importance. He was a lead witness for President Clinton before the House Judiciary Committee’s Impeachment Hearings, and a principal spokesman for Al Gore before the Florida legislature during the election crisis of 2000. Professor Ackerman is a member of the American Law Institute and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is a Commander of the French Order of Merit, and the recipient of the American Philosophical Society’s Henry Phillips Prize for lifetime achievement in Jurisprudence.