About Our Undergraduate Students

Academic Year 2016-2017: Prizes and Distinctions

Award Recipients

Andrés Bello Award: Anna Olcott
Offered by the Consul of Chile to a senior who has excelled in Spanish.

Wendy Berson Language Award: Isaac Holterman
Given to a senior who has demonstrated excellence in the area of Romance Languages in general, but more specifically, to one with the ability to speak one or more of them with great expertise.

The Figurito Family Award for Scholarly Achievement in Italian: Christopher J. Fell
Presented in the name of Joseph Figurito, Professor of French and Italian at Boston College for half a century, for scholarly achievement in Italian.

Princess Grace of Monaco Award: Emily Murphy
Offered by the Consul of Monaco, in conjunction with the Consul of Chile, to a senior who has excelled in French.

Tutto Italiano Award for Excellence in Italian: Alyssa L. Marques
The Tutto Italiano Award for Excellence in Italian, offered by Emilio and Marilena Locilento, in honor of their parents Angelo and Maria for their love of education and free enterprise, given to an Italian major or minor.

Princess Grace of Monaco Award: Emily Murphy
Offered by the Consul of Monaco, in conjunction with the Consul of Chile, to a senior who has excelled in French.

Normand R. Cartier Award: Danielle Nista
Given to a student for outstanding commitment and achievement in work for the Boston College Chapter of Pi Delta Phi, the National French Honor Society.

The Sue L. Nguyen (M.A. ’73) Research Travel Prize: Enrico Carnevali
Awarded on a competitive basis for Masters students to engage in original research abroad.

The Sue L. Nguyen (M.A. ’73) Prize for Academic Excellence in Graduate Studies: Alexandra Brown
Awarded in honor of Sue L. Nguyen to a Masters student for outstanding academic performance in recognition of her appreciation for the value of graduate education in the Romance Languages.

RLL Senior Honors Thesis

Kathryn V. Avery
“The Xenophobia of Francisco Franco: Fear of the Other or Fear of Your Neighbor.” Directed by Professor Irene Mizrahi.

2017 Achievement Awards

For outstanding achievement in a Romance Languages and Literatures course.

French: Madeleine D’Angelo, Annette Ayzichek, Mark Hebert, Aubrey Horton, Thomas Hull, Alexis Iderman, Jonathan Januszewski, Yara Kassamani, Charlotte Kaufman, George Matli, Briana Maund, Olivia McCaffrey, Miranda McDonald-Stahl, Julia McTigue, Amber Mitchell, Emily Murphy, Shannon Oram, Daniel Perea-Kane, Eric Sanfilippo, Marissa Venuto, Cristina Zubizzareta.

Italian: Frank Cascone, Catherine Henckel, Juliana Hillis, Jennifer Lewis, Blake Yoho.

Hispanic Studies: Olivia Barbieri, Sarah Bertschmann, Brian Bouchard, Jackson Bowers, Justin Brown, Alison Burns, Mairin Daubert, Christina Doctor, Zoe Gomes, Bridget Gorham, Courtney Griffin, Alison Hiatt, Isaac Holterman, Jacinta M. Josephs, Carolyn Larkins, Jorge Mejía, Lauren Mushro, Anna Olcott, Andrew Patterson, Sophia Payne, Kathryn Slein, Taylor Stauffer, Sara Valentine, Matthew Vernance, Ivana Rizo, Patron Wu.

2017 Sophomore Scholar

Taylor Halva (French)

2017 Dean's Scholar

Lauren Mushro (Hispanic Studies)

Phi Beta Kappa

Robert Harding (Hispanic Studies)

Daniel Perea-Kane (Hispanic Studies)