Skip to main content

What's New in the Physics Department

March 30, 2017

It has been another exciting and productive year at the Heights! I hope you enjoy an inside look at some of the highlights in the Physics Department:

  • We are very happy to welcome Ilija Zeljkovic to Boston College as an assistant professor. Ilija received his PhD from Harvard University.
  • Kenneth Burch, along with faculty colleagues in physics and biology, received a grant from the National Science Foundation for a Research Experience for Undergraduates program to operate over the next three summers on campus.
  • Our 2015 graduating majors will pursue graduate degrees at a number of universities, including Stanford, UC Davis, Drexel, and Utah, while others have entered the workforce in a range of industries. Please join us in wishing them all success!
  • David Broido; Kris Kempa; Mike Naughton; Cyril Opeil, S.J.; Ziqiang Wang; and Ilija Zeljkovic collectively authored a total of seven papers in Nature journals in 2015, including Nature Communications, Nature Materials, Nature Nanotechnology, and Nature Physics.
  • Andrzej Herczynski received a grant from the Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences in Cambridge, U.K., to plan and co-chair a conference on Growth Form and Self-Organization.

In other news, the Physics Department continues to push the forefront of research in correlated condensed matter, materials, and nanoscale physics, and continues to guarantee every physics major a research opportunity.

Finally, we are in the process of hiring several new faculty members to further strengthen and expand our teaching and research portfolios as we strategize for the University's next phase in advancing integrated science.

As a Physics Department graduate, you remain an important part of our extended family. Please stay in touch!


Michael J. Naughton
Evelyn J. and Robert A. Ferris Professor of Physics and Chair, Physics Department

A Message from the Dean

Watch as Dean Gregory Kalscheur, S.J., shares his vision for the Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences.