Skip to main content

Breadcrumb navigation:

Reconnect II Logo

A BC Celebration of the AHANA Alumni Community
July 21
24, 2016

Boston College was excited to welcome alumni, parents, and friends back to the Heights for RECONNECT II, a four-day program celebrating the AHANA alumni community. First held in 2009, RECONNECT brings together members of the African-American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian-American, and Native American community. This year's program hosted more than 600 AHANA alumni, which set a new attendance record for the program. Activities included a gala dinner, campus tours, professional development, and leadership building. 

RECONNECT 2016 Recap

RECONNECT 2009 Recap

2009 photos provided by Donald Garnett '77 

Purchase your RECONNECT t-shirt today! Email us and include the following information:
Phone number
Shirt Size

Remembering Our Roots

Keith Francis

Keith A. Francis Tribute Video

Keith A. Francis graduated from the Lynch School of Education in 1976. Throughout his life he was a prominent member of BC's AHANA community and served as a mentor to countless Boston College students and alumni. He brought prospective AHANA students onto campus and ensured that AHANA alumni remained connected to the University.

A University Trustee, Francis was the founder and driving force in organizing RECONNECT 2009, exemplifying his commitment to Boston College and fellow AHANA alumni. Although he passed away in July 2011, his lifelong efforts, visionary leadership, and legacy continue to shape BC today.  

Thank You to the AHANA Alumni Advisory Council

AAAC Co-Chairs

Darcel Clark '83 and Juan Concepción '96, MEd'97, JD'03, MBA'03

Engagement Committee

Darcel Clark '83 and Tanji Reed Marshall '86, P'17 (Co-Chairs)
Tamika Barnes '99
Yasmin Nunez '97, MS'00, MBA'09, MS'12
Kendall Reid '79
Ricardo Salinas '09

Communications & Marketing Committee

Wynndell Bishop '00, MBA'07 and Rev. Lt. James Hairston '04 (Co-Chairs)
Veronica Chappelle-McNair '83
Susan Choy '11
Donald Garnett '77
Arnold Sookram '91

Programming Committee

Eva N. Boyce '77 and Dawn McNair '82, MEd'83, H'03(Co-Chairs)
Gerry Lake '84, MBA'88
Jose Lopez '05, MEd'06
Tamy-Fee Meneide '05, MA'06
Lashawn Norton '87

Professional Advancement and Mentoring Committee

Bob Marshall '88, P'17, and Micaela Mabida '11 (Co-Chairs)
Dan Bunch '79, MSW'81
J.R. Clark '88
Florence Mitchell-Brown '89
Gail Hunter Ellis '81
Arivee Vargas Rozier-Byrd '05, JD'08

Light the World Campaign