Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Core Requirements

core curriculum

The Boston College Core Curriculum is a fifteen-course program required of all Boston College undergraduates:

  • One course in Arts - Fine Arts, Music, Theatre
  • One course in Cultural Diversity
  • Two courses in History
  • One course in LiteratureClassical Studies, English, German Studies, Romance Languages and Literatures, Slavic & Eastern Languages and Literatures
  • One course in Mathematics
  • Two courses in Natural Science - Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Physics
  • Two courses in Philosophy
  • Two courses in Social Science - Psychology in Education, Economics, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
  • Two courses in Theology
  • One course in Writing

Some Core requirements can be completed through Special Programs, such as Core Renewal Pilot Classes, Pulse, Perspectives, and the Honors Program.

For questions about Core classes in a particular department, contact the appropriate Core representative below:

Subject Representative Email
African and African Diaspora Studies Martin Summers martin.summers@bc.edu

Biology

Kathy Dunn

kathy.dunn@bc.edu

Chemistry

Lynne A. O'Connell

oconnell@bc.edu

Classics

Kendra Eshleman

kendra.eshleman@bc.edu

Communication

Don Fishman

fishmand@bc.edu

Computer Science

Howard Straubing

straubin@bc.edu

Cultural Diversity

Office of the Associate
Dean for the Core

bc-core21@bc.edu

Earth and Environmental Sciences

Alan Kafka

kafka@bc.edu

Economics

Bob Murphy

robert.murphy@bc.edu

English

Treseanne Ainsworth

treseanne.ainsworth@bc.edu

Fine Arts

Claude Cernuschi - Fine Arts
                                    claude.cernuschi@bc.edu
Kenneth Craig - Art History                                   
                                    kenneth.craig@bc.edu
Alston Conley - Studio Art
                                    alston.conley.1@bc.edu
John Michalczyk - Film Studies
                                    john.michalczyk.1@bc.edu

German Studies

Daniel Bowles

bowlesd@bc.edu

History

Sarah Ross

hscore@bc.edu

Honors

Michael Martin

michael.martin.2@bc.edu

Mathematics

Dan Chambers

chambers@bc.edu

Music

Jeremiah McGrann

jeremiah.mcgrann@bc.edu

Perspectives

Brian Braman

bramanb@bc.edu

Philosophy

Deborah DeChiara-Quenzer

dechiara@bc.edu

Physics

Rein Uritam

uritam@bc.edu

Political Science

Timothy Crawford

timothy.crawford@bc.edu

Psychology

Michael Moore

moorem@bc.edu

Pulse

Meghan Sweeney

meghan.sweeney@bc.edu

Romance Languages and Literature

Franco Mormando

mormando@bc.edu

Slavic & Eastern Languages and Literatures

Cynthia Simmons

simmonsc@bc.edu

Sociology

Gustavo Morello

gustavo.morello@bc.edu

Theatre

Luke Jorgensen

luke.jorgensen@bc.edu

Theology

Brian Robinette

brian.robinette@bc.edu

Writing Paula Mathieu paula.mathieu@bc.edu