Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

The Liturgy Committee


mass gospel procession with cross

featuring video by Rev. Msgr. James A, Mongelluzzo, S.T.D.

A course designed for members of faith-based communities who are involved or who want to become involved in liturgy planning.  It covers liturgical principles, the basic structure of the Mass, tools for planning liturgies and liturgical seasons, and strategies for working together as a committee.

This course has a required text:  Mark Searle, Liturgy Made Simple. The Liturgical Press, 1981.

Enroll Now



Introductory Week
Week 1: Key Liturgical Principles
Week 2: Structure of the Mass
Week 3: Special Considerations for Planning and Strategies for Working Together as a Committee

Special Features

This course includes:

  • A video presentation by Rev. Msgr. James A. Mongelluzzo for each week of the course;
  • Text transcripts of each featured video;
  • A study aid written by Dr. Barbara Radtke that guides participants through the course material;
  • Weekly questions for reflection and discussion; and
  • A regularly updated Resources page to guide further study.

All STM Online: Crossroads courses include these features:

  • Participants have access 24 hours/7 days a week to the course's password-protected web site. 
  • Each participant belongs to a small Community for Conversation and faith sharing guided by a facilitator.
  • The course site is usually available to participants at least three months after the course.
  • An orientation in how to navigate the web site is always available.
  • Technical assistance is easy to contact and prompt in returning a message.

Additional Materials Needed

Mark Searle, Liturgy Made Simple. The Liturgical Press, 1981.

Time Commitment

A participant can expect to spend an average of 4-5 hours each week.  This commitment includes both preparation and interaction online.

Fee: $25

Content Scholar:

Rev. Msgr. James A. Mongelluzzo, S.T.D., is a priest of the Diocese of Worcester, Massachusetts, and serves on the faculty at Pope St. John XXIII National Seminary.