Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

School of Theology and Ministry

Student Organizations

school of theology and ministry

STM NEWS CALENDAR:  Here

STM STUDENT FORUM 

The Student Forum of the Boston College School of Theology and Ministry is a council of representatives from the STM student body comprised of elected officers and appointed committee chairs who work with the Associate Dean for Student Affairs to coordinate and fund student programming; to provide a forum for discussions of school academic and student life policies , curriculum, community life and formation; and to act as a liaison between STM students, administration and faculty.

The purpose of the Student Forum:

  • To actively engage students in the mission of the STM, particularly as it seeks to foster a community within a Catholic and Jesuit university that is “contemplative, critical and collaborative.”
  • To organize, promote, and fund activities that will serve the needs and interests of students.
  • To provide a forum for students to meet and discuss specific issues of importance regarding school academic and student life policies, curriculum, community life, worship, and formation.
  • To promote  student interests and act as the primary liaison between the student body, administration, and faculty.
  • To represent the student interests of the STM within the broader Boston College community

Student Forum Moderator - Megan Loumagne
Student Forum Treasurer - Kevin DeCusatis


STUDENT GROUPS AND COMMITTEES

BIRDS-Boston Interreligious Dialogue Students
The Boston Interreligious Dialogue Students seek to help facilitate dialogue opportunities for students and faculty on college campuses throughout the Boston area in the hopes of raising awareness of the diversity of faiths. In so doing, we hope to help not only in learning about each other’s faiths in their similarities and differences, but also to move beyond those elements that separate us to work together toward common goals as we respect the uniqueness of each person’s faith.
Rachel Alba- rachel.alba@bc.edu

Community Life Committee (CLC)
The Community Life Committee plans and provides social events for the entire STM community. These events offer students, faculty and staff the opportunity to come together, outside the classroom, for evenings of entertainment and community building. The committee is open to all STM students, faculty and staff who are interested in providing engaging and exciting events for the STM community.
Mary Kate Curry- mary.curry@bc.edu
Timothy Dulle- timothy.dulle@bc.edu

El Salvador Immersion Experience
Each year the STM sends a delegations of students  to El Salvador over Spring Break . Hosted by CRISPAZ, the delegation visits several faith-based organizations that are directly involved in the work of post-war reconstruction, education and social justice outreach. The trip is one of accompaniment, where participants learn about the history and present reality of El Salvador from the Salvadoran people themselves. The trip will include a two-night homestay with families in the village of Cinquera. Issues such as the impact of war, neo-liberal economics, U.S. foreign policy, and a tradition of liberating faith are explored during the seven-day experience. Students visit the National Cathedral, Divine Providence and the University of Central America (UCA). Click here for more information
Rose Miola- rose.miola@bc.edu

Faber Jesuit Community Student Liaison
Chris Ryan, S.J.-  christopher.ryan.6@bc.edu

Faith and Justice Committee
The Faith and Justice Committee of the STM promotes critical fidelity to the church's rich history of Catholic Social Teaching in the faith that does justice as a foundation to our teaching, service, prayer and ministry.

The purpose of the Faith and Justice Committee is to be a resource to sustain faculty, staff and students to a lived expression and concrete embrace of the gospel love of neighbor, and mutuality and equality among peoples and cultures that brings human dignity to all. We also hope to promote careful and respectful use of the resources of creation, peaceful and just reconciliation of conflicts, and, in theological study, creative research and pastoral practice with a special concern for those on the margins of society and Church.

The Committee meets monthly and seeks to raise pertinent issues of social justice and encourage methods for practical implementation in STM courses and programs.
Rachelle Simon- rachelle.simon@bc.edu

Gaudete
Gaudete is a welcoming and affirming community of STM students, which recognizes the dignity of each person and seeks to enrich the STM with openness and acceptance.  We provide a space for hope, witness, and dialogue for all students.  We celebrate inclusivity through creative liturgies, fellowship, discussion, and scholarship.
Alfred Pang- alfred.pang@bc.edu
Tim Xiao- han.xiao@bc.edu

International Students Association
The International Student Association hosts two International Evenings each semester, which feature the distinctive aspects of church, society, art and culture from a particular region of the world. These are occasions for faculty and students to gather and discover the richness of culture and tradition through liturgy, a shared meal, and creative presentations.
TBD

Corazon Latin@'
The committee "Corazon Latin@'" endeavors to foster a sense of comunidad among students who are preparing or are interested in working with Latina/o communities.  In carrying out this goal, the committee works to promote awareness and celebrates the Latina/o religious culture in three distinct areas: building community, liturgy, and spirituality.  The committee collaborates with the Hispanic Ministry program in carrying out these tasks.
Michelle Lopez- michelle.lopez@bc.edu
Paulina Canales- paulina.canales@bc.edu
Neiby Nova- neiby.nova@bc.edu

Liturgy Committee
The STM Liturgy Committee assists in the planning and coordination of the STM liturgical program, which includes daily Eucharist, the All-School Thursday Liturgy, and prayer services that enhance the spiritual life and learning environment of the School. Serving on the Committee is an opportunity for students to expand their knowledge of liturgy, learn liturgy planning skills, and participate in planning prayerful and vibrant liturgical celebrations for the STM community. Serving on the Committee is also among the options for fulfilling the STM spiritual formation requirements.
JoAnn Lopez- joann.lopez@bc.edu

Lumen et Vita
Lumen et Vita
, meaning “Light and Life,” is the graduate journal of Boston College’s School of Theology and Ministry. We attempt to present the best research and reviews of our diverse student body, while using an online, open access format that will encourage ongoing dialogue both in the School and in the wider academic community. For our mission statement and more information, please see our webpage. The journal itself can be viewed here.
Chelsea King- chelsea.king@bc.edu

O.F.M. Capuchin Student Liaison
Will Tarraza, O.F.M. Cap.- william.tarraza@bc.edu

Prison Ministry Initiative
The Prison Ministry Initiative is a group run through the School of Theology and Ministry at Boston College.  In our call to live out and share the good news of the Gospel, the STM Prison Ministry Initiative, inspired by the Jesuit commitment to faith and justice, seeks to promote the dignity and wholeness of all those affected by incarceration.
Ian Roeber- ian.roeber@bc.edu

Women's Group
The Women’s Group exists to foster a sense of community and support for the women at the STM.  Through conversation, social gatherings, and networking opportunities, the group will inspire and encourage women as they experience the STM and discern their futures.  As an inviting and vibrant community, the Women’s Group will offer opportunities for members to freely discuss their experience and deepen their social, academic, and faith lives as they converge in and out of the STM.
Elyse Raby: elyse.raby@bc.edu
Danielle Heitmann:  danielle.heitmann@bc.edu
Michelle Verner:  michelle.verner@bc.edu
Mary Leahy:  mary.leahy.2@bc.edu