Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

William F. Connell School of Nursing

Year in Review 2012: Alumni

Moreen O. Donahue ’68, senior vice president and chief nursing officer of the Western Connecticut Health Network in Danbury, and Mairead Hickey ’72, executive vice president and chief operating officer at Boston’s Brigham and Women’s Hospital, were inducted into the American Academy of Nursing.

The New England Regional Black Nurses Association awarded Kelly DePina ’01, a staff nurse with the Intermediate Care Program at Children’s Hospital Boston, and Tricia Gordon ’06, M.S. ’13, a staff nurse at Massachusetts General Hospital, each an Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice. Jane Tuitt ’97, clinical director of the Dorchester High School Health Center and a women’s health nurse practitioner at Codman Square Health Center, accepted the association’s Excellence in Education and Training Award.

The Massachusetts Association of Registered Nurses honored the memory of Helen Fagan ’58 with its Excellence in Nursing Education Award. Fagan, longtime director of the St. Elizabeth’s Hospital School of Nursing, died in 2011. The association awarded its Mary A. Manning Nurse Mentoring Award to Cecilia McVey ’72, associate director for Nursing/Patient Services at the VA Boston Health Care System.

The Massachusetts chapter of the March of Dimes presented Heidi Fantasia, M.S. ’97, Ph.D. ’09, an assistant professor at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, with its Nurse of the Year Award in women’s health.

Cathy Rodgers Ward, M.S. ’82, received NurseWeek Magazine’s 2011 National Nurse of the Year Award in the management category. Ward is director of nursing at Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center and assistant clinical professor at the UCLA School of Nursing.

Lisa Wolf, Ph.D. ’11, was named an Academy of Emergency Nursing fellow. Wolf is a clinical assistant professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst School of Nursing.