Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

William F. Connell School of Nursing


by alex spanko

Angela Barron McBride. Photograph: Caitlin Cunningham
Angela Barron McBride

Pinnacle lecture

“The demand for nurse leadership has never been greater,” Angela Barron McBride told an audience gathered for her fall 2012 Pinnacle lecture in the Murray Room in Yawkey Center. But McBride, a distinguished professor and university dean emerita at the Indiana University School of Nursing, cautioned against equating leadership with an administrative title. “Nurse leaders will play an important role in transforming the medical profession to match the needs of future generations, including the specific challenges that will arise as more people live into very old age,” said McBride. She laid out strategies for becoming an effective nurse leader and mentor at various career stages—and noted the need to have mentors along the way. McBride also offered suggestions on how to remain optimistic on the job, such as learning not to take the positive aspects of nursing for granted. “It’s only when you celebrate lots of little goodies that you actually have the energy for the big ones,” she said.

AAN welcomes nine from CSON

The American Academy of Nursing recently inducted doctoral candidate Rachel DiFazio, a pediatric nurse practitioner at Boston Children’s Hospital, and added eight Connell School alumnae to its roster of nearly 2,000 fellows. They are:

  • Michelle Beauchesne, M.S. ’79, an associate professor and coordinator of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at Northeastern University;
  • Susan Chapman, M.S. ’77, assistant adjunct professor at the University of California, San Francisco’s School of Nursing;
  • Elizabeth Burgess Dowdell, M.S. ’87, a professor of pediatric nursing at Villanova University and daughter of Professor Ann Wolbert Burgess;
  • Jean D’Meza Leuner, M.S. ’79, Ph.D. ’94, founding dean and professor at the University of Central Florida’s College of Nursing;
  • Sara Looby, Ph.D. ’08, a nurse practitioner at Massachusetts General Hospital;
  • Kris McLoughlin ’82, director of nursing education, performance improvement, and research at UCLA’s Resnick Neuropsychiatric Hospital;
  • Kathleen Miller, M.S. ’80, associate dean for advanced practice programs and director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at the University of Massachusetts Medical School’s Graduate School of Nursing in Worcester; and
  • Jeannine Rivet ’72, an executive vice president at UnitedHealth Group.
Assistant Professor Holly Fontenot. Courtesy Visions by Baker Photography
Assistant Professor Holly Fontenot

March of Dimes applauds

The March of Dimes Foundation’s Massachusetts chapter named Assistant Professor Holly Fontenot one of its 2012 Nurses of the Year, recognizing her work in administration and research.

Fontenot was one of nine Bay State nurses honored by the organization.

MARN recognizes CSON professors

The Massachusetts Association of Registered Nurses (MARN) honored Assistant Professor Kelly Stamp and Professor Barbara Wolfe, CSON’s associate dean for research, at its April awards. MARN presented Stamp with its Excellence in Nursing Education Award, and Wolfe received the Mary A. Manning Nurse Mentoring Award.

Patricia Tabloski and Phyllis Shanley Hansell
Associate Professor Patricia Tabloski (left)

An honor and an appointment

Associate Professor Patricia Tabloski was recently inducted into the Hall of Honor at her alma mater, Seton Hall University College of Nursing.

She was also appointed to the advisory committee for the Doctoral Advancement in Nursing project, co-sponsored by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

CSON turns out for ENRS

Professors June Horowitz and Dorothy Jones were recognized for their leadership promoting health through nursing science at the Eastern Nursing Research Society’s annual conference, held this April in Boston. Also at the conference, Mara Renold ’13 presented a research poster, “The Effects of Socioeconomic Status on Cardiovascular Health of Mexican-American Women,” and Ph.D. students Stacy Hutton Johnson and Katherine Phillips illustrated and discussed their research projects.

Connell School faculty Dorothy Jones, Jane Flanagan, and Danny Willis worked behind the scenes on the planning committee for the conference. Associate Professor Rosanna DeMarco sits on the society’s board of directors.