Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

William F. Connell School of Nursing

Master's entry scholarships

connell school news


The Connell School of Nursing has received funding to award scholarships from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) and the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) through the RWJF New Careers in Nursing Scholarship Program (NCIN). Grants provided through this competitive program will provide scholarships directly to students from groups underrepresented in nursing or from disadvantaged backgrounds who are entering the school's accelerated master's entry program.

At the Connell School, 10 scholarships in the amount of $10,000 each will be awarded to master's entry students during the 2010–2011 academic year. This is the second year the NCIN program has supported Connell School students, and the program continues to develop culturally competent health professionals and future leaders of the profession.

The Connell School of Nursing will also use grant funding to help leverage additional resources to add new faculty, secure matching funding from state programs, develop mentoring and leadership development programs, strengthen outreach efforts, and establish new partnerships with community and practice leaders. These efforts will enable the school to sustain its program expansion while positioning it for growth.

"Through the NCIN program, we are challenging the nation’s nursing schools to be innovative and resourceful in how they grow their nursing programs, diversify student populations, and contribute to the nursing leadership of tomorrow,” says Denise A. Davis, RWJF program officer for NCIN. “We are very pleased to support this unique approach, particularly at a time when growing numbers of Americans are gaining insurance and entering our health care system.”

The NCIN program was launched in 2008 to enable schools of nursing to expand student capacity in accelerated baccalaureate and master’s programs, and build a more diverse workforce ready to serve the needs of a changing patient population. In the 2010–2011 academic year, 397 students in accelerated baccalaureate programs and 114 students in accelerated master’s programs will receive scholarship funding.