Skip to main content

Law Day 2014: Photo Slideshow

2014 news archive



Boston College Law School's honorees for this year’s Law Day celebration included former Chief Justice of the Massachusetts District Court Lynda M. Connolly, who received the St. Thomas More Award. Law Day is an annual tradition that celebrates BC Law alumni who have made significant contributions to the legal community and the legal profession. The annual Law Day celebration was held May 1, 2014 at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

St. Thomas More Award
The award recognizes members of the legal community who represent, in their professional and private life, the ideals of St. Thomas More.

Former Chief Justice Lynda M. Connolly '74 began her career as a Special Prosecutor in the Major Violator's Division of the Suffolk County District Attorney's Office; practiced corporate and regulatory law at Gallagher & Gallagher, P.C. in Boston; and was appointed to the bench by Governor William F. Weld in 1997. She served as the Acting First Justice in the Charlestown District Court, First Justice of the Dedham District Court, and—in June 2004—was appointed Chief Justice of the District Court, the largest department of the Massachusetts Trial Court.

Further Reading on the St. Thomas More Award

William J. Kenealy, SJ, Alumnus of the Year Award
In recognition of contributions to BC Law, its students, and alumni

Joseph Vanek has practiced in the field of commercial litigation for over 25 years, with particular focus in the fields of intellectual property and antitrust. In the antitrust arena, Mr. Vanek focuses on opt-out litigation by representing large corporate clients who have over paid for products or services as a result of an antitrust violation. Mr. Vanek also has considerable experience in the area of trademark law.  In this regard, Mr. Vanek has represented numerous clients in the domestic and worldwide clearance, selection and registration of trademarks.  Mr. Vanek’s trademark clients range from internationally renowned branding companies and Fortune 100 companies to entrepreneurial startups.

Further Reading on the William J. Kenealy, SJ, Alumnus of the Year Award

Hon. David S. Nelson Public Interest Law Award
In recognition of contributions to the public sector

Maryam Elahi '86 is the president and CEO of the Community Foundation of Eastern Connecticut.  She joined this organization in September 2013 after twenty-five years of leadership in the international human rights community as an advocate, teacher and grant-maker. She was previously the director of the International Women’s Program at the Open Society Foundations, a global philanthropic organization, where she supported organizations empowering women in conflict and post-conflict countries. Prior to OSF, Ms. Elahi was the founding director of the Human Rights Program at Trinity College in Hartford. She established the first undergraduate college human rights program in the United States. She taught courses on international human rights law at Trinity, as well as at the Oxford University Summer International Human Rights Program. During her ten years at Trinity, she traveled extensively to set up international programs with a human rights focus, resulting in the establishment of programs in Cape Town, Santiago, Trinidad, and Hong Kong.

Further Reading on the Hon. David S. Nelson Public Interest Law Award

Daniel G. Holland Lifetime Achievement Award
Recognizes an alumna/us who has, over the course of his or her lifetime, made significant contributions to the Law School and/or the community.

George Field '78 is an attorney at Block & Roos in Boston. He brings hard-won skills in hundreds of trials, appeals, mediations, and arbitrations to his broad-ranging practice in dispute resolution and related legal advising. George has successfully represented businesses and individuals in business and partnership restructuring and separation; fiduciary and directors' and officers' disputes; patent, trademark and copyright litigation; commercial and employment litigation and mediation; bankruptcy litigation including claims resolution, contested matters and adversary proceedings; international arbitration, real estate and title disputes; trusts and estates and probate litigation; and many other areas.

Further Reading on the Daniel G. Holland Lifetime Achievement Award

Special Service Award
Given to a faculty member (often at the time of his or her retirement or movement to emeritus status) for extraordinary service to the Law School.

George Brown is the Robert Drinan, S.J., Professor of Law. Most recently he served as Interim Dean of the Law School, 2010-2011. He is a specialist in the field of federal-state relations and government ethics. In both areas he draws on his extensive experience in state government. He has served as Legislative Assistant to the Governor of Massachusetts and as Assistant Attorney General of Massachusetts. In 1994, Governor William Weld appointed him Chair of the Massachusetts State Ethics Commission.  Professor Brown is the author of over forty law review articles, and is best known for his articles on the jurisdiction of federal courts and on political corruption. He has also served as Chair of the Section on Federal Courts of the Association of American Law Schools.

Further Reading on the Special Service Award

Established by presidential proclamation in 1958, Law Day is a long-standing tradition across the nation and at Boston College Law School.  Its purpose is to celebrate the most important goals of the legal profession:  to advance equality and justice, encourage observation and enforcement of the law, and to foster respect for law and an understanding of its essential place in the life of every citizen.