Skip to main content
Boston College School of Social Work
BC-1_4
Leadership +
Partnership

Andrea Cohen, MSW '84

Thinking Creatively about Senior Care

Andrea Cohen, MSW ’84, is dedicated to helping seniors age in place. As CEO of HouseWorks she has been a pioneer in private home care.  More about Thinking Creatively... »

Erin Gerber MSW ’09

'It's That Voice'

As a gender-based trainer/counselor in Thailand, Erin Gerber, MSW ’09, helped to empower refugees to find their voice.  More about 'It's That Voice' »

More Features »

Commitment +
Exploration

Ashley Hammonds, MSW '11

Taking Pride in Her Culture

As a member of the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina, Ashley Hammonds, MSW '11, takes pride in her culture and in helping to create awareness about the lives of modern day Native Americans.  More about Taking Pride... »

Professor and Louise McMahon Ahearn Chair James Lubben

'I'm a Dreamer'

Professor and Louise McMahon Ahearn Chair James Lubben talks about his love of flowers and how cultivation and nurturing translates to his teaching and relationships with his students.  More about 'I'm a Dreamer' »

More Features »

Student Organizations

GSSW Student Collective

The GSSW Student Collective is the governing body for students at Boston College Graduate School of Social Work. The purpose of the Student Collective is to enhance the quality of student life through programs, activities, and open meetings. It promotes communication among students and serves as a liaison between students and administration. Within the Student Collective there are various groups and committees that focus on specific areas of interest. All committees are open for participation to all BC Social Work students during the entire year.

Visit the GSSW Student Collective Facebook page for student news and events.
Visit the BC Social Work Facebook page for all school news and events.

GSSW Student Collective Board Members
Executive Coordinator Vesi Hristova hristovv@bc.edu
Social Justice Coordinators Tiffany Favers
Olivia Dubois
favers@bc.edu
duboiso@bc.edu
Social Events Coordinators Rosey Neill
Blaire Smith
neillr@bc.edu
smithabk@bc.edu
Budget Secretary Hilary Kunnanz hilary.kunnanz@bc.edu

 

GSSW Student Collective Committees & Interest Groups

Social Workers for Social Justice
The Social Workers for Social Justice committee promotes student involvement in social justice activities within the BC Social Work community.
Student Leaders Tiffany Favers
Olivia Dubois
favers@bc.edu
duboiso@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Dorothy Weitzman dorothy.weitzman@bc.edu
 
Social Events Committee
The Social Events Committee plans two large social events that commence each semester and other smaller, informal events that take place throughout the semesters.
Student Leaders Rosey Neill
Blaire Smith
neillr@bc.edu
smithabk@bc.edu
 
Social Work and Spirituality
Social Work and Spirituality provides a forum for BC Social Work students of various spiritual backgrounds to come together to discuss and explore the intersection between their personal spiritual beliefs and practices and their professional practice as social workers.
Student Leaders Marie Clouqueur
Chelsea Echenique
luccima@bc.edu
echeniqu@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Liz Cinquino mary.cinquino@bc.edu
 
Spectrum
Spectrum is a student group for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered students as well as allies. Spectrum educates and informs the larger social work community about diversity, homophobia, and heterosexism and provides space for students to discuss a variety of issues.
Student Leader Emma Rawls rawlse@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Kevin Mahoney kevin.mahoney@bc.edu
 
Three-Year Program Student Group
The Three-Year Program Student Group is a support group for students in the three- or four-year programs of study.
Student Leader Daisy Cassidy daisy.cassidy@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Liz Cinquino mary.cinquino@bc.edu
 
Umoja
Umoja, an African word meaning unity, is the student organization for people of color (Asian American, African American, Native American, and Latino American). Umoja is a support group for its members and strives to increase the awareness of the BC Social Work community around issues related to people of color.
Student Leader Luis Balcazar balcazar@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Margaret Lombe margaret.lombe@bc.edu
 
Global Forum on Social Issues
The Global Forum on Social Issues is a student group aimed at creating a platform for students to engage in current global social issues and develop individual and collective action.
Student Leaders Peju Oyeyemi
Xi Pan
oyeyemi@bc.edu panxb@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Margaret Lombe margaret.lombe@bc.edu
 
DOC: Doctoral Outreach and Community
The DOC: Doctoral Outreach and Community group enhances the overall well-being of doctoral students at all stages in the academic program. The group seeks to build community among doctoral students by providing social and academic events.
Student Leader Sarah Dow-Fleisner
Kaipeng Wang
sarah.dow@bc.edu
wangbh@bc.edu
GSSW Liaison Teresa Schirmer
teresa.schirmer@bc.edu

 

GSSW Executive Board

The purpose of the Executive Board is to encourage and stimulate excellence in the continuing development of the Graduate School of Social Work. The Board is the legislative body for BC Social Work and has five student representatives. 
GSSW Executive Board Student Representatives
Vesi Hristova Final Year Student hristovv@bc.edu
Emily Pakstis Final Year Student
pakstise@bc.edu
Andrew DeVellis First Year Student devellia@bc.edu
Vivian Pham First Year Student phamvb@bc.edu
Kareemah Sabur First Year Student sabur@bc.edu