Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Carroll School of Management

Klein Ethics Case Competition

February 14, 2014


The Carroll School of Management and the Boston College Center for Corporate Citizenship host the annual Walter H. Klein Business Ethics Case Competition each spring. Teams are provided with a business case in the weeks leading up to the competition which they will have to analyze, create recommendations, and present to a panel of judges.  The competition honors Walter Klein, a long-time faculty member and Professor of Strategic Management at the Carroll School of Management. Professor Klein was a pioneering force in the development of social issues in management, a field that now includes corporate social responsibility, corporate citizenship, and sustainability.  In the Carroll School, he led efforts to incorporate such issues and ways of thinking in the MBA curriculum.


Students must be in sophomores or juniors at Boston College. Students will compete as a team of two where at least one member of the team must be in the Carroll School of Management.


Prior to the competition, students will receive a case portraying an ethical dilemma happening in business.  The students must analyze the case and create a presentation outlining the ethical and financial dimensions of the case, as well as to develop a recommendation for the company.  The presentation will be 15 minutes and students will have access to a projector and laptop for a Powerpoint.  Following the 15-minute presentation, judges will have 5 minutes to ask questions to the team.


Students interested in participating in the 2015 competition should check their This Week in the Carroll School newsletter in November 2014.

Judging Criteria

Teams will be judge based on the depth of their analysis,  the creativity of their recommendation, and the presentation delivery.


The winning team will receive a cash prize and have the opportunity to represent Boston College at the Eller Ethics Case Competition at the University of Arizona in October (




Previous Winners


1st place: Natasha Lopez and Julia Lamberti, class of 2015
2nd place: Robbie Li and Claudio Quintana, class of 2016


1st place: Alex Tingle and Josh Coyne, class of 2014
2nd place: Cristian Lopez and Sean Eckelman, class of 2014


1st place: Justin Feng and Matt Alonsozana, class of 2014
2nd place: Matt Flynn, class of 2013, and Eddie Parisi, class of 2014