Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:


October 2010

Awards and recognitions

Jean Bartunek, Robert A. and Evelyn J. Ferris Chair in the organization studies department, won the Literati Network Awards for Excellence Outstanding Author Contribution Award for 2010 in the area of research in organizational change and development for her book chapter “A New Horizon for Organizational Change and Development Scholarship: Connecting Planned and Emergent Change” (with Reut Livne-Tarandach) in the book Research in Organizational Change and Development.

Joy Field, associate professor, operations and strategic management department, was named 2009 Best Associate Editor for the Journal of Operations Management at the Academy of Management annual meeting in August.  

Professor of Accounting Amy Hutton has been named an editor of The Accounting Review, effective June 2011.

Financial Analysts Journal published a study by Alan Marcus, newly appointed Mario J. Gabelli Chair in Finance, and Hassan Tehranian, Griffith Family Millennium Chair and chairperson of the finance department, titled “Relative Sentiment and Stock Returns” (with Roger M. Edelen) in its July/August issue. 

In July, Professor of Business Law Francis J. Parker, S.J., conducted an hour-long webinar titled “Commercial Real Estate and Current Environmental Crises (Oil, Wind, Water and Air)” for the Commercial Section of the National Association of Realtors.

James F. Cleary Chair in Finance Jeffrey Pontiff won first prize in the Jensen Prizes for Corporate Finance and Organizations category of the 2009 Journal of Financial Economics Best Paper Contests for his paper “Share Issuance and Cross-Sectional Returns: International Evidence” (with R. David McLean and Akiko Watanabe). 

Assistant Professor of Information Systems Sam Ransbotham’s paper “Does Individuals’ Adoption of New Technologies Supplement or Substitute for Incumbent Technologies?” (with Eric Overby) was awarded the Best Program Paper in the Organizational Communication and Information Systems (OCIS) Division at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management in August.

Galligan Chair in Strategic and Operations Management Sandra Waddock was presented with an Academy of Management Learning & Education Editorial Board Reviewer Award at the organization’s editorial board meeting in August.