Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:


Caroll Capital Hed
Carrol Capital

High marks


For the third consecutive year, the Carroll School’s accounting program placed in the top ten (ranked number seven this year) in BusinessWeek’s 2010 Best Undergraduate Business Programs by Specialty, which are based solely on student satisfaction surveys.

Rob Fichman was promoted to full professor of information systems and won the first annual Carroll School award for excellence in graduate teaching.

Marta Geletkanycz, associate professor of strategic management, has been named associate editor of the Academy of Management Journal. Her three-year term begins July 1.

Mary Ann Glynn, Joseph F. Cotter Professor and research director of the Winston Center for Leadership and Ethics, has been elected to the Academy of Management’s Board of Governors.

Amy Hutton was promoted to full professor of accounting and won the American Accounting Association’s Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award for her paper “Causes and consequences of earnings manipulations: An analysis of firms subject to enforcement actions by the SEC” (with Patricia Dechow and Richard Sloan). The award recognizes research published between five and 15 years ago (Hutton’s paper was published in Contemporary Accounting Research in 1996) that has significantly advanced accounting education.

Assistant Professor of Accounting Lian Fen Lee won the American Accounting Association’s 2010 Competitive Manuscript Award, which honors research by members of the Association who have earned their Ph.D. within the past five years. Her winning paper was titled “Incentives to inflate reported cash from operations using classification and timing.”

Darren Kisgen was granted tenure and promoted to associate professor of finance.

In the category of accounting, the MBA program was named one of the top 15 graduate schools of business in the Princeton Review’s second annual “Student Opinion Honors for Business Schools.” The list appeared in the April 2010 issue of Entrepreneur magazine.

Jeffrey Pontiff was named James F. Cleary Chair in Finance.

Assistant Professor of Finance Jonathan Reuter was named a faculty research fellow in the National Bureau of Economic Research’s “Aging” group, which studies pension design, Social Security, and individual retirement behavior. Additionally, the March 2010 Journal of Financial Economics published Reuter’s “When should firms share credit with employees? Evidence from anonymously managed mutual funds” (with Massimo Massa and Eric Zitzewitz).

Metin Sengul, assistant professor of operations and strategic management, won a Citation of Excellence Award from Emerald Group Publishing Limited for writing one of the top 50 business studies of 2009. Sengul’s “Information technology and transnational integration: Theory and evidence on the evolution of the modern multinational enterprise” (with Subramanian Rangan) was published in the Journal of International Business Studies in December 2009.

Billy Soo, associate professor of accounting, and Mike Barry, adjunct associate professor of finance, won the first annual Carroll School awards for excellence in undergraduate teaching. 

In March, Associate Professor of Operations Mei Xue gave a presentation titled “Why are the banks still opening branches? The impact of virtual channel on physical channel capacity expansion” at Singapore Management University’s Lee Kong Chian School of Business.

G. Peter Wilson, Joseph L. Sweeney Chair in Accounting, received the 2010 Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants at the spring meeting of the Institute’s Governing Council in San Diego. The award recognizes full-time college accounting educators who are both excellent teachers and nationally prominent in the accounting profession.