Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences

Grad Students

Sociology Department

Student
Research Interests:
Alina Alekseyko
Ph.D. program
alina.alekseyko@bc.edu
The impacts of military activities on environmental degradation and environmental inequalities in the former USSR region; sustainability of lifestyles in global cities; sharing economy; energy and sustainability
William Attwood-Charles
Ph.D. program
william.attwood-charles@bc.edu
Economic sociology, political sociology, organizations and work
Emily Barko
Ph.D. program
barkoe@bc.edu
Gender, health and inequality; intersectionality; symbolic interaction; social psychology, qualitative methodology
Julia Bates
Ph.D. program
julia.bates@bc.edu
Race and ethnicity, transnational sociology, social theory, historical methods
Mehmet Cansoy
Ph.D. program
mehmet.cansoy@bc.edu
Welfare state, inequality, healthcare, pensions, economic sociology
Lindsey Carfagna
Ph.D. program
lindsey.carfagna@bc.edu
Higher education, organizational sociology, economic sociology, technology, consumption and culture
Kyle Carr
Ph.D. program
kyle.carr@bc.edu
Medical sociology, aging and the life course, mixed methods, and social psychology
Jaclyn Carroll
Ph.D. program
jaclyn.carroll@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, critical advocacy studies, social movement communication, rhetoric and neoliberalism, rhetorical criticism, feminism and masculinity studies, and queer theory
Patrick CoatarPeter
Ph.D. program
patrick.coatarpeter@bc.edu
Environmental sociology and sociology of development; specifically the role of the state and elite-controlled institutions' influence on environmental outcomes
Caliesha Comley
Ph.D. program
caliesha.comley@bc.edu
Gender and sexualities; race, class, gender; feminisms; postcoloniality; law and policy; qualitative research
Matthew DelSesto
Ph.D. program
matthew.delsesto@bc.edu
Culture, crime and deviance, race and class, sustainability and the environment
Lauren Diamond-Brown
Ph.D. program
lauren.brown.2@bc.edu
Medical sociology, sociology of reproduction, gender and feminist theory, qualitative methodology
Jacob Dillabaugh
M.A. program
jacob.dillabaugh@bc.edu
Latin America, stratification, inequality, globalization, development, education, and historical sociology
Samantha Eddy
Ph.D. program
N/A
Emily Ekl
M.A. program
emily.ekl@bc.edu
Social networks, deviance and crime, social psychology
Jared Fitzgerald
Ph.D. program
jared.fitzgerald@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, political economy, comparative international sociology, sociology of education, quantitative methods, global inequality
Maheen Haider
Ph.D. program
maheen.haider@bc.edu
Race and ethnicity, immigration, social psychology, culture
Charles Haigh
M.A. program
charles.haigh@bc.edu
Sociology of law; historical/social/philosophical backing of current U.S. criminal law, especially drug law; social response/understanding of law; sociology of legal change; science role in legal/social change
Jasmine Hamm
M.A. program
jasmine.hamm@bc.edu
Sociology of education, inequality, race, stratification, family, qualitative methodology
Xiaorui Huang
Ph.D. program
xiaorui.huang@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, political economy, historical comparative sociology
Orla Kelly
Ph.D. program
orla.kelly@bc.edu
Gender, education, sociology of development, and environmental sociology
Jacqueline Kenney
M.A. program
jacqueline.kenney@bc.edu
Labor and family relations; especially the ways in which the labor force can become more inclusive to families
Isak Ladegaard
Ph.D. program
isak.ladegaard@bc.edu
Economic sociology, economic markets, black markets, cyptomarkets, digital sociology, technology, encryption, dark net, cybercrime, criminology, cultural criminology, deterrence
Elise Largesse
Ph.D. program
elise.largesse@bc.edu
Sociology of place, communities in isolation, barely inhabited locations, theories of social contract, deviance, crime
Elizabeth Magner
Ph.D. program
elizabeth.magner.2@bc.edu
My broad areas of interest are animal studies, political sociology, environmental sociology, and quantitative methods
Iyar Mazar
Ph.D. program
iyar.mazar@bc.edu
Family, gender, medical sociology, social psychology
Elizabeth Milford
M.A. program
elizabeth.milford@bc.edu
Social critical theory, sociology and work, social inequality, and the interaction between a post-work society and capitalism
Jeremiah Morelock
Ph.D. program
jeremiah.morelock@bc.edu
My areas of study include health and illness, work and organizations, aging, and social theories, especially classical, critical and postcolonial   
Marya Mtshali
Ph.D. program
marya.mtshali@bc.edu
Interracial relationships, intersectionality, gender
Juan Nunez
M.A. program
juan.nunez@bc.edu
Economic sociology and transnational sociology, particularly how globalization affects migration from Latin America to the United States
Kathryn Olson
Ph.D. program
kathryn.olson@bc.edu
Inequality and sustainability, new economics, sustainable agriculture
Monique Ouimette
Ph.D. program
monique.ouimette@bc.edu
Intersection of environmental sociology and the sociology of consumption
Ashley Parry
M.A. program
ashley.parry@bc.edu
Gender and sexuality: policing masculinity, hegemonic masculinity, gender, deviant behavior
Bennet Pellows
Ph.D. program
bennet.pellows@bc.edu
Population studies, research methods, advanced quantitative analyses
Calista Ross
Ph.D. program
calista.ross@bc.edu
Black LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities; black queer sexuality; race and racialization; sexuality; cultural citizenship; culture; media.
Annika Rieger
Ph.D. program
annika.rieger@bc.edu
Environmental Sociology, Economic Sociology, Social Movements
Fatima Sattar
Ph.D. program
fatima.sattar@bc.edu
Social welfare, policy, inequality, immigration, refugees, race, ethnicity, class, gender, intersectionality and institutional ethnography
Darcy Schnack
Ph.D. program
darcy.schnack@bc.edu
Military and environmental sociology, specifically the Army's environmental initiatives and how we can change human behavior to reduce energy consumption in a military culture
Shan Shan
Ph.D. program
shan.shan@bc.edu
Economic sociology, historical sociology, political sociology; spatial analysis (with GIS application)
Cedrick-Michael Simmons
Ph.D. program
cedrickmichael.simmons@bc.edu
Inequality studies, qualitative research, race and ethnicity, sexuality, education, social justice/social change
Abolfazl Sotoudeh-Sherbaf
Ph.D. program
abolfazl.sotoudehsherbaf@bc.edu
Comparative political sociology/social movements, immigration and modern nation-state in the Middle East, sociology of Iranian pop arts and literature, and intersections of sociology and psychoanalysis   
Jeffrey Stokes
Ph.D. program
jeffrey.stokes@bc.edu
Marriage and family, social gerontology, aging and the life course, quantitative methods
Deniz Uyan
M.A. program
deniz.uyan@bc.edu
Race, class, and gender; law and politics; legalized racial oppression; critical legal theory
Robert Wengronowitz
Ph.D. program
robert.wengronowitz@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, sociology of climate change, social movement studies, sociology of food and agriculture, community organizing and social change
Wei-Yu Yang
M.A. program
weiyu.yang@bc.edu
Globalization, quantitative research, cultural studies, comparative historical studies
Selen Yanmaz
Ph.D. program
selen.yanmaz@bc.edu
My areas of interest include digital studies, social movements, and youth and subcultural studies.