Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Grad Students

Sociology Department

Student
Research Interests:
Alina Alekseyko
Ph.D. program
alina.alekseyko@bc.edu
The impacts of military activities on environmental degradation and environmental inequalities in the former USSR region; sustainability of lifestyles in global cities; sharing economy; energy and sustainability
William Attwood-Charles
Ph.D. program
william.attwood-charles@bc.edu
Economic sociology, political sociology, organizations and work
Emily Barko
Ph.D. program
barkoe@bc.edu
Gender, health and inequality; intersectionality; symbolic interaction; social psychology, qualitative methodology
Julia Bates
Ph.D. program
julia.bates@bc.edu
Race and ethnicity, transnational sociology, social theory, historical methods
Steven Bianco
M.A. program
steven.bianco@bc.edu
Historical-comparative methods, mixed methods, Weberian sociology, sociology of capitalism, economic sociology, and social change
Mehmet Cansoy
Ph.D. program
mehmet.cansoy@bc.edu
Welfare state, inequality, healthcare, pensions, economic sociology
Lindsey Carfagna
Ph.D. program
lindsey.carfagna@bc.edu
Higher education, organizational sociology, economic sociology, technology, consumption and culture
Kyle Carr
M.A. program
kyle.carr@bc.edu
Medical sociology, aging and the life course, mixed methods, and social psychology
Jaclyn Carroll
Ph.D. program
jaclyn.carroll@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, critical advocacy studies, social movement communication, rhetoric and neoliberalism, rhetorical criticism, feminism and masculinity studies, and queer theory
Caliesha Comley
Ph.D. program
caliesha.comley@bc.edu
Gender and sexualities; race, class, gender; feminisms; postcoloniality; law and policy; qualitative research
Matthew DelSesto
Ph.D. program
matthew.delsesto@bc.edu
Culture, crime and deviance, race and class, sustainability and the environment
Lauren Diamond-Brown
Ph.D. program
lauren.brown.2@bc.edu
Medical sociology, sociology of reproduction, gender and feminist theory, qualitative methodology
Samantha Eddy
Ph.D. program
N/A
Jared Fitzgerald
Ph.D. program
jared.fitzgerald@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, political economy, comparative international sociology, sociology of education, quantitative methods, global inequality
Amanda Freeman
Ph.D. program
amanda.freeman.2@bc.edu
Poverty, social welfare, family policy, education, inequality, race and class, gender, and qualitative methods
Maheen Haider
Ph.D. program
maheen.haider@bc.edu
Race and ethnicity, immigration, social psychology, culture
Charles Haigh
M.A. program
charles.haigh@bc.edu
Sociology of law; historical/social/philosophical backing of current U.S. criminal law, especially drug law; social response/understanding of law; sociology of legal change; science role in legal/social change
Xiaorui Huang
Ph.D. program
xiaorui.huang@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, political economy, historical comparative sociology
Orla Kelly
Ph.D. program
orla.kelly@bc.edu
Gender, education, sociology of development, and environmental sociology
Isak Ladegaard
Ph.D. program
isak.ladegaard@bc.edu
Economic sociology, economic markets, black markets, cyptomarkets, digital sociology, technology, encryption, dark net, cybercrime, criminology, cultural criminology, deterrence
Elise Largesse
Ph.D. program
elise.largesse@bc.edu
Sociology of place, communities in isolation, barely inhabited locations, theories of social contract, deviance, crime
Sarah Litten
M.A. program
sarah.litten@bc.edu
My passion is for modern politics and its evolution as it pertains to modern society and the factions and changes thereof to better understand who we are
Elizabeth Magner
Ph.D. program
elizabeth.magner.2@bc.edu
My broad areas of interest are animal studies, political sociology, environmental sociology, and quantitative methods
Iyar Mazar
Ph.D. program
iyar.mazar@bc.edu
Family, gender, medical sociology, social psychology
Jeremiah Morelock
Ph.D. program
jeremiah.morelock@bc.edu
My areas of study include health and illness, work and organizations, aging, and social theories, especially classical, critical and postcolonial   
Marya Mtshali
Ph.D. program
marya.mtshali@bc.edu
Interracial relationships, intersectionality, gender
Juan Nunez
M.A. program
juan.nunez@bc.edu
Economic sociology and transnational sociology, particularly how globalization affects migration from Latin America to the United States
Kathryn Olson
Ph.D. program
kathryn.olson@bc.edu
Inequality and sustainability, new economics, sustainable agriculture
Monique Ouimette
Ph.D. program
monique.ouimette@bc.edu
Intersection of environmental sociology and the sociology of consumption
Bennet Pellows
Ph.D. program
bennet.pellows@bc.edu
Population studies, research methods, advanced quantitative analyses
Calista Ross
Ph.D. program
calista.ross@bc.edu
Black LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities; black queer sexuality; race and racialization; sexuality; cultural citizenship; culture; media.
Fatima Sattar
Ph.D. program
fatima.sattar@bc.edu
Social welfare, policy, inequality, immigration, refugees, race, ethnicity, class, gender, intersectionality and institutional ethnography
Darcy Schnack
Ph.D. program
darcy.schnack@bc.edu
Military and environmental sociology, specifically the Army's environmental initiatives and how we can change human behavior to reduce energy consumption in a military culture
Cedrick-Michael Simmons
Ph.D. program
cedrickmichael.simmons@bc.edu
Inequality studies, qualitative research, race and ethnicity, sexuality, education, social justice/social change
Abolfazl Sotoudeh-Sherbaf
Ph.D. program
abolfazl.sotoudehsherbaf@bc.edu
Comparative political sociology/social movements, immigration and modern nation-state in the Middle East, sociology of Iranian pop arts and literature, and intersections of sociology and psychoanalysis   
Jeffrey Stokes
Ph.D. program
jeffrey.stokes@bc.edu
Marriage and family, social gerontology, aging and the life course, quantitative methods
Robert Wengronowitz
Ph.D. program
robert.wengronowitz@bc.edu
Environmental sociology, sociology of climate change, social movement studies, sociology of food and agriculture, community organizing and social change
Sarah Woodside
Ph.D. program
sarah.woodside@bc.edu
Organizations, peace and conflict, alternative dispute resolution
Wei-Yu Yang
M.A. program
weiyu.yang@bc.edu
Globalization, quantitative research, cultural studies, comparative historical studies
Selen Yanmaz
Ph.D. program
selen.yanmaz@bc.edu
My areas of interest include digital studies, social movements, and youth and subcultural studies.