Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences

Spring 2017 Syllabi

Sociology Department

Instructor Office Hours Courses
Will Attwood-Charles MWF 10-11
SOCY2215.02/Social Theory
Sarah Babb
sarah.babb.1@bc.edu
MW 10-12
SOCY2210.01/Research Methods
SOCY7761.01/Sec Yr Grad Writing Sem
Julia Bates T/Th 10-12
SOCY1001.01/Introductory Sociology
Mehmet Cansoy T 10:30-12:30
SOCY3319.01/Living in an Age of Big Data
Julia Chuang
julia.chuang@bc.edu
T 2:30-4:30
SOCY5518.01/Craft of Ethnography
SOCY7711.01/Empirical Research Seminar
Charles Derber
charles.derber@bc.edu
TBA SOCY1092.01/Peace or War: United States/Third World
SOCY3375.01/American Economic Crisis and Social Change
Wen Fan
wen.fan@bc.edu
T/Th 1:30-2:30
SOCY1002.01/Intro to Sociology for Healthcare Professions
SOCY5545.01/Medical Sociology
Jared Fitzgerald M/F 12:30-1:45
SOCY1001.05/Introductory Sociology
Brian Gareau
brian.gareau@bc.edu
F 10-11
SOCY334901/Environmental Studies: Selected Topics
SOCY7779.01/Environmental Sociology Workshop I
SOCY7780.01/Environmental Sociology Workshop II
William Griffith
griff@bc.edu
Computer Sciences
Contact Instructor SOCY6670.01/Technology & Culture
Maheen Haider Th 4:30-5:30
SOCY1001.02/Introductory Sociology
Jessica Hedges
jessica.hedges@bc.edu
TBA SOCY3309.01/Restoration & Resistance
Brett Ingram
brett.ingram@bc.edu
TBA SOCY3368.01/Masculinity, Sexuality, and Difference
Kyoung-yim Kim W  3-4
SOCY3358.01/Gender and Sports
Zine Magubane
zine.magubane@bc.edu
M 8:15-10:15
SOCY1039.01/African World Perspective
SOCY5597.01/Contemporary Race Theory
Shawn McGuffey
clifton.mcguffey@bc.edu
TBA SOCY1043.01/Introduction to African American Society
SOCY1704.01/Black Intimacy and Intersectionality
Sara Moorman
sara.moorman@bc.edu
T/Th 12:30-1:30
SOCY1058.01/Sociology of the Family
Jeremiah Morelock W 12:30-2:30
SOCY3314.01/Mental Illness & Society
Monique Ouimette T 2-4
SOCY1001.06/Introductory Sociology
Andrew Owens
owensac@bc.edu
Communications Department
Contact Instructor SOCY2225.01/Introduction To Feminisms
Stephen Pfohl
stephen.pfohl@bc.edu
T/Th 1:30-2:30
SOCY1030.01/Deviance and Social Control
SOCY5530.01/Studies in Crime, Deviance, and Social Control
SOCY7716.01/Contemporary Soc Theory
Deborah Piatelli
deborah.piatelli.2@bc.edu
Wed (by appt) 2:30-3:30; Th (open) 5-6 pm
SOCY2255.01/Advanced Community Service Research Seminar II
SOCY3303.01/Social Construction of Whiteness
Sarah Ryan
stouts@bc.edu
School of Social Work
Contact Instructor SOCY5565.01/Intro to Social Work
Natasha Sarkisian
natalia.sarkisian@bc.edu
W 11-12
SOCY2200.01/Statistics
SOCY7706.01/Longitudinal Data Analysis
SOCY9981.01/Dissertation Seminar
Juliet Schor
juliet.schor@bc.edu
M 2-3
SOCY4931.01/Important Readings in Sociology
SOCY7763.01/Topics in Environmental Sociology
Eve Spangler
eve.spangler@bc.edu
T/Th 12-1
W 1:30-2:30
SOCY1072.01/Inequality In America
SOCY2215.01/Social Theory
SOCY3306.01/Capstone: Making History in a Changing World
Jeff Stokes
M/W 11-1
SOCY3318.01/Social Stats Literacy
Margaret Thomas
thomasm@bc.edu
Slavic Languages
Contact Instructor SOCY2275.01/Language and Ethnicity
John Williamson
john.williamson.1@bc.edu
T/Th 9:15-10:15
SOCY1097.01/Death and Dying
SOCY5540.01/Internship in Sociology I
SOCY5541.01/Internship in Sociology II

SOCY7703.01/Multivariate Stats
Selen Yanmaz
W 12:30-1:30
SOCY1001.07/Introductory Sociology
SOCY1001.08/Introductory Sociology
Ted I.K. Youn
yount@bc.edu
School of Education
Contact Instructor SOCY5568.01/Sociology of Education