Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

Morrissey College of Arts and Sciences

Spring 2016
Boston College Political Science Events

department of political science

Wednesday, January 27 - Noon

Program for the Study of Western Heritage Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 226A
Joy Samad, American University of Iraq, Sulaimani
“What to Do about ISIS: A View from the Region”                         
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Friday, January 22; seating is limited.

Monday, February 1 - Noon

Political Science Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 226A
Stephen Eide, Manhattan Institute
“Why Tocquevillian Localism is not Realistic”
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, January 27; seating is limited.

Monday, February 8 - Noon     

John Marshall Project Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 521 Conference Room
Bryan Garsten, Yale University
“From Popular Sovereignty to Civil Society in Post-Revolutionary France”
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, February 3.

Monday, February 22 - Noon

Political Science Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 226A
R. Shep Melnick, Boston College
“Adversarial Legalism Meets Partisan Polarization”           
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, February 17; seating is limited.

Monday, February 29 - Noon

John Marshall Project Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 521 Conference Room
Yuval Levin, Fellow, Ethics and Public Policy Center
“Statesmen and Intellectuals: Edmund Burke on Politics and the Academy"
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, February 24.

Monday, March 14 - Noon

John Marshall Lectures in Political Theory Luncheon Talk
10 Stone Ave., Room 201
Sanford Kessler, NC State University, School of Public & International Affairs
“Classical Liberal Arguments for the Utility of Religion”
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email clough.center@bc.edu by Thursday, March 10; seating is limited.

Friday, March 18

Fortin Memorial Lecture
Assumption College, Worcester, MA
Speaker to be announced

Monday, March 21 - Noon

John Marshall Project Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 226A
James Stoner, Louisiana State University
“Was Joseph Story a Christian Constitutionalist?”
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 16; seating is limited.

Thursday, March 31 - 4:30 p.m.

Gasson Chair Professor Lecture
Fulton 511
Pierre de Charentenay, S.J., Gasson Chair Professor in Political Science
“Can a Society Live without Religion or How the West is Making So Many Jihadists?”

Friday, April 1 - Noon

Political Science and MIT Luncheon Talk
McGuinn 334
Wayne Ambler, The Herbst Program of Humanities for Engineering, Univ. of Colorado at Boulder
“Plato’s Euthyphro on Divine and Human Wisdom”
Respondent: Randal Hendrickson, Jack Miller Center
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Tuesday, March 29.

Friday, April 1 - 5:00 p.m.

Political Science International Relations Lecture Series
Stokes S195 Auditorium
Paul Staniland, University of Chicago
“Armed Politics: Violence, Order, and the State in South Asia”

Monday, April 11 - 4:30 p.m.

Political Science, School of Social Work, Sociology and ILA Lecture
Fulton 230
Christopher Sandy Jencks, Harvard University
“Rethinking Poverty and Inequality”

Thursday, April 14 - 4:30 p.m.

John Marshall Project and Program for the Study of Western Heritage Lecture
Cushing Hall 001 Auditorium (basement level)
Michael Doyle, Columbia University
“The Question of Intervention: JS Mill and the Responsibility to Protect"
Response: Jakub Grygiel, Johns Hopkins University

Thursday, April 21 - 5:00 p.m.

Political Science International Relations Lecture Series
Gasson 305
Col. Phil Haun, Yale University
“Coercion, Survival and War: Why Weak States Resist the United States"

Monday, April 25 - Noon

John Marshall Project Luncheon Talk
McGuinn TBA
Vickie Sullivan, Tufts University
“Montesquieu and the Despotic Ideas of Europe”
Lunch will be served; RSVP required.
Email ovalles@bc.edu by 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, April 20.

Friday, April 29 - Full day

Initiative for the Study of Constitutional Democracy Conference
McGuinn
“The Jury in America: Past, Present, Future?”