Skip to main content

Secondary navigation:

MORRISSEY COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

Current Ph.D. Students

history department

Fields of Interest:  

American

Asia and the Middle East

Britain, Ireland, and British Empire

Medieval

Modern and Early Modern Europe


View the alphabetical list of students here.

 

American History:

Name:

Area of Interest:

E-mail:

Michael Bailey Atlantic World History; Irish History; Colonial and Early Republic American History; Colonial Latin America; Social & Cultural History baileymp@bc.edu
Peter Berard 20th-c. U.S.; intellectual and diplomatic history peter.berard@bc.edu
Peter Cajka Religion, politics and ideas in 20th-c. US peter.cajka.1@bc.edu
Katherine Carper Immigration; 19th-c. US; social history
katherine.carper@bc.edu
Michael Franczak Cold War; U.S. foreign and foreign economic policy michael.franczak@bc.edu
Ryan Green United States military history, death and dying in the American military ryan.green@bc.edu
Felix Jimenez Modern Germany; Human Rights; Latin America felix.jimenez@bc.edu
Joanna Kelly Religion, politics and culture in US history joanna.kelly@bc.edu
Kelly Lyons U.S. immigration and labor history lyonskj@bc.edu
Colin McConarty
U.S. Political History & Political Thought; Southern History; African American History notismcc@bc.edu
Michael McLean Western United States History, Native American History, and Environmental History michaemg@bc.edu
Mia Michael U.S. Immigration, Nativism, Social History michaemc@bc.edu
John Morton Maine in the Early Republic mortonjo@bc.edu
Alexander Noonan 19th- and 20th-c. U.S. alexander.noonan.1@bc.edu
Adam Rathge Late 19th- and 20th-c. U.S.
rathge@bc.edu
Christopher Staysniak 20th-c. U.S.; Catholic American history christopher.staysniak@bc.edu
Clayton Trutor 19th-c. U.S. social and cultural history trutor@bc.edu
Allison Vander Broek 20th-c. US history, American Catholicism, Social Movements/Social Activism vanderaa@bc.edu
 

Asia and the Middle East:

Name:

Area of Interest:

E-mail:

Jeffery Dyer Nineteenth Century Ottoman Empire dyerjd@bc.edu
Fumi Inoue Modern Japanese history; Japan-U.S. foreign relations; social movements fumi.inoue@bc.edu
Görkem Özizmirli Early modern Ottoman Empire gorkem.ozizmirli@bc.edu
Lindsay Paturalski
Colonial and Post-Colonial India gatesli@bc.edu
 

Britain, Ireland, and British Empire:

Name:

Area of Interest:

E-mail:

Michael Bailey Atlantic World History; Irish History; Colonial and Early Republic American History; Colonial Latin America; Social & Cultural History baileymp@bc.edu
James Clifton Modern Britain  james.clifton@bc.edu
Erica Foss 19th Century Britain and France erica.foss.1@bc.edu
Michael Franczak Cold War; U.S. foreign and foreign economic policy michael.franczak@bc.edu
Craig Gallagher British Atlantic World craig.gallagher@bc.edu
Amy Limoncelli Modern Britain amy.limoncelli.1@bc.edu
 

Medieval:

Name:

Area of Interest:

E-mail:

Christine Bertoglio Social and religious issues in High Medieval England and France christine.bertoglio@bc.edu
Matthew Delvaux Archaeology and text in early medieval northwestern Europe matthew.delvaux@bc.edu
Janet Kay Britain in the fifth century, burial archaeology janet.kay@bc.edu
Carolyn Twomey Early medieval conversion, religion, and material culture; Anglo-Saxon and early Norman England carolyn.twomey.1@bc.edu
 

Modern and Early Modern Europe:

Name:

Area of Interest:

E-mail:

Whitney Abernathy Modern French intellectual and cultural history
whitney.abernathy@bc.edu
Elise Franklin Modern France; intellectual history  elise.franklin.1@bc.edu
Eric Grube Modern Germany; cultural and political history eric.grube@bc.edu
Daniel Hood Democracy and violence in early-mid 19th-c. Europe daniel.hood@bc.edu
Felix Jimenez Modern Germany; Human Rights; Latin America
felix.jimenez@bc.edu
Nicholas Quadrini Modern Germany quadrini@bc.edu
David Sessions Modern European intellectual history; French and German philosophy and political thought
david.sessions@bc.edu
Isaiah Sterrett
Modern Europe; culture and politics; children, childhood, and the family; the modern state sterreti@bc.edu
Kasper Volk Intellectual History; Modern Germany  kasper.volk@bc.edu
Andrea Wenz Early Modern Italy  wenza@bc.edu